Banner Image

GeoRef : About

Subject Coverage
  • Areal geology
  • Economic geology
  • Engineering geology
  • Environmental geology
  • Extraterrestrial geology
  • Geochemistry
  • Geochronology
  • Geophysics
  • Hydrogeology and hydrology
  • Marine geology and oceanography
  • Mathematical geology
  • Mineralogy and Crystallography
  • Paleontology
  • Petrology
  • Seismology
  • Stratigraphy
  • Structural geology
  • Surficial geology
Publication Types
  • Books
  • Dissertations & Theses‎
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Wire Feeds
What is GeoRef?

The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The database contains over 3.1 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.

A subscription to the GeoRef database also includes access to the GeoRef In Process database that contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. Users can choose to search these databases separately or simultaneously.

ProQuest Illustrata™ Deep Indexing Deep Indexing Earth Science has indexed over 3.5 million tables & figures from over 400,00 published works drawn from over 700 journals and continues to monitor these titles, enhancing researchers’ ability to retrieve the most relevant literature – an article  featuring a relevant table matching your search terms is very likely to be extremely relevant to your search.

See the Natural Sciences Deep Indexing page on this guide for further information and the sample searches tab to view a figures and tables example search.


GeoRef Key Facts

• Coverage: 1933-current
• Total Sources Covered:
• Over 6.5 million A&I records
• Over 3.5 million indexed tables and figures

Selection Policy

GeoRef staff currently scan over 3000 journals to locate articles of a geoscience nature. A selected list of journals are given priority. Formal geoscience articles are indexed and included in the GeoRef database with as much speed as is practical.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

ProQuest Platform Videos
Using ProQuest LibGuides | Webinars & Screencasts | Discover More Corps | Accessability | ProQuest