Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Health & Medical Collection: Sample Searches

The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource for researchers, students, faculty, and healthcare professionals.

Links to Health and Medical Collection

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to Health and Medical Collection. For alternative methods of authentication and links to Health and Medical Collection please see the documents in the Additional Materials page.

Sample Searches

Basic Search      

You are looking for information on the prevalence of smoking among college students.

  • Type college students AND smoking into the Basic Search.  
  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the provided facets on the left side bar.
  • From the facets menu, go to the Publication Date limit and select the last bar in the chart to choose items published this decade.
  • Go to the Subject option and expand it by clicking the down arrow, then select "More options" and check the box to Include the subject "young adult" and apply the changes.
  • Go to the top of the results set to the Sorted by button and re-sort your items by Most recent first.
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on the lower right of each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • If you are dissatisfied with your results (you may think that you have too many or too few results or could be more specific), consider using Other searches to try at the bottom of the results page to run a new search using subjects related to your current search. From the list of Suggested subjects, select College students AND smoking. The difference this time is that you are searching within the subject field whereas before you were searching the full record (with or without full text depending on your default settings).

Note: When you select a Related search, it removes any of your previous limits (such as the date limit we selected earlier for items from the last decade forward). Go back and add your date limit to search for items from 2010 and on and you’ll notice that you have a more refined set than what you began with.

Advanced Search

 You are looking for full-text articles about the H1N1 vaccine for children.

  • From the Advanced Search page and the first row, type H1N1 vaccine AND children and then select Abstract from the first pull-down menu.
  • From the limit to section select the Full text box.
  • From the date range pull-down menu select Last 12 months.
  • Click Search.
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Save search/alert to create an alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into Health & Medical Collection that meet your search criteria.
  • Enter your email address, choose the email format, and schedule your alert based on when you would like to receive an email of your results and how long you would like the alert to last.
  • Click create alert.

Publications

Use this page to locate publications covered in Health & Medical Collection, search within those publications, and browse the available issues.

You want to browse the latest issue of Infectious Disease Alert.

  • Type BMC Infectious Diseases in the search box and select to search In title from the pull-down menu.
  • Click on the publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • Use the Search within this publication search box to search for articles in the journal or the Browse specific issues feature to look through the contents of an issue.
  • To browse the latest issue, select the most recent year to see the published issues and then choose the most recent issue.
  • Click on the Preview link for additional record details or select the Abstract/Details link, or Full Text to begin reviewing the article.

Other Examples

The searches below use nursing as an example subject, but the processes may apply to searches across many subjects:

 

You are looking for information on evidence based nursing.

Search example 1 -- Publications Search

  • Type evidence based in the search field at the top of the page and choose In title from the pull-down menu.
  • View publications from a number of recognized publishers.
  • Click the title of a desired publication, such as Evidence-Based Nursing and run a search under the Search within this publication field.

Search example 2 -- Advanced Search

  • Type nursing in the search field at the top of the screen.  From the pull-down select Anywhere. (For more focused results, choose to search instead under Title or Abstract or Anywhere except full-text -- NOFT or add additional search terms).
  • On the lower screen in the box titled Document type scroll to and check Evidence Based Healthcare and then click Search.

Search example 3 -- Advanced Search

  • In the middle of the screen, click the link Look up Subject Headings (all).
  • Under the search field, choose the radio button titled Contains.
  • In the search field, type evidence based and click Find.
  • From the results, select the most appropriate subject headings and click Add to search.
  • In the search field at the top of the screen, type nursing and select Anywhere, then click Search. (For more focused results, choose to search instead under Title or Abstract or Anywhere except full-text -- NOFT or add additional search terms).

 

You are looking for literature reviews on the topic of nursing.

Search example -- Advanced Search

  • On the search field at the top of the screen, from the pull-down menu on the right, choose Subject heading -- MAINSUBJECT.
  • Click the link below the pull-down menu titled Look up Subjects.
  • Under the search field, choose the radio button titled Begins with and then type nursing in the search field.
  • Check nursing from the list of results and click Add to search.
  • Go to the lower box titled Document type and check Literature Review and then Search.  (To expand your search, in the main search field at the top of the screen, choose to search All subjects & indexing -- SU in lieu of Subject heading -- MAINSUBJECT).
  • To focus searches, add other desired search terms in available search fields at the top of the screen.

 

You are searching for information discussing nursing theorists.

Search Example 1 -- Advanced Search

  • On the search field at the top of the screen, from the pull-down menu on the right, choose Subject heading -- MAINSUBJECT.
  • Click the link below the pull-down menu titled Look up Subjects.
  • Under the search field, choose the radio button titled Contains and then type nursing theory in the search field.
  • Check nursing theory from the list of results and click Add to search.
  • In the second search field at the top of the screen, choose AND from the left pull-down menu.
  • Type the name of a nursing theorist of interest, such as Virginia Henderson, Dorothea Orem, Jean Watson, or Florence Nightingale and select Anywhere from the right pull-down menu, then click Search. (For narrower results, in the second search field in lieu of Anywhere choose Anywhere except full-text -- NOFT or Abstract.

Search Example 2 -- Advanced Search

  • In the first search field at the top of the screen, type Dorothy Johnson and select Anywhere from the right side pull-down menu.
  • On the second search field, choose AND from the left pull-down menu, then type system model and select Anywhere from the right-side pull-down menu.
  • Try search with other theorists and nursing models.

 

You are interested in information regarding ethical issues in nursing.

Search Example -- Advanced Search

  • On the main search field at the top of the screen, type ethics or "ethical issues".  From the right side pull-down, select Abstract.
  • On the second search field, choose AND from the left pull-down menu, then from the right pull-down menu, choose Subject heading -- MAINSUBJECT, then click the link titled Look up Subjects.
  • Below the search field, select the radio button titled Begins with, then type nursing in the search field and click Find.
  • From the list, check nursing and then click Add to search.
  • If desired, on the main search screen below the second search field, click the link titled Add a row and add additional search terms to your search, such as intensive care or nursing home.