Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

The Harper's Bazaar Archive: Searchable Fields

America’s first fashion magazine. - Complete run digitized of US and UK editions. - Full page image format

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Harper's Bazar Archive offers two (2) Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or fashion item. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author and company/brand  For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the advanced search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors).  Look ups for Fashion Item and Company/Brand are listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Searchable Fields

Search Field Field Code Example Description
Anywhere   "indian silk" Anywhere searches across all the fields in the record. This will also search on the background OCR text behind JPEG and Flash images.
Anywhere except full text ALL ALL(leather n/3 accessor*) ALL searches for keywords in the bibliographic data, citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not search on the full text, i.e. will exclude search from the article images in JPEG and Flash view.
Abstract AB AB(indian silk) AB searches for keywords in the abstract only.
Author AU AU(Adams, Brooks) AU searches for documents written by a particular author.  Author names may be entered as:
Last Name, First Name
First Name Last Name
First name
Last Name
Caption CAP CAP(wool) CAP searches for keywords in image captions.
Company/organization ORG ORG(Pantene) ORG searches for advertisements about a specific company.
Company/product BCO BCO(Pantene) BCO searches for advertisements about a particular Company (ORG) or Product (NP).
Document feature DF DF(photograph) DF searches for articles that contain specific features.
Document number AN AN(879311098) AN searches the ProQuest document ID.
Document text FT FT(miniskirt) FT searches for keywords in the background OCR text of the scanned images.
Document title TI TI(tux* fashion) TI searches for keywords in the title of the record.
Document type DTYPE or AT DTYPE(Advertisement)
or
AT(Advertisement)
DTYPE retrieves documents that are of a specific type e.g. advertisement, fashion article, runway article, accessories article, business article, retail article, beauty article, etc.
Product name NP NP(Chanel) NP searches for advertisements about a specific product.
Publication Date PD PD(Dec 17, 1992)
PD(Dec 1992)
PD(Dec)
PD searches for articles published on a particular date/date range.
Publication Year      
PY  
PY(1994)
PY searches for articles published on a particular year/year range.
Supplement SUPP SUPP(fashion) SUPP searches for keywords in the title of the supplements that were published along with the main issues.