Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Health Research Premium Collection: Sample Searches

Health Research Premium Collection addresses the diverse needs of professionals, students, researchers, administrators, and others by providing a broad collection of healthcare journals and evidence-based resources

Links to ...

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to Health Research Premium Collection. For alternative methods of authentication and links to Health Research Premium Collection please see the documents in the Additional Materials page.

Sample Searches

Basic Search      

You are looking for information on the prevalence of smoking among college students.

  • Type college students AND smoking into the Basic Search box or use the widget on the left.  
  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature.
  • From the Narrow results menu, go to the Publication Date limit and select the last bar in the chart to choose items published this decade.
  • Go to the Subject Limit option, select "More options" and then check the box to Include the subject "young adult."
  • Go to the top of the results set to the Sort button and re-sort your items by Most recent first and click Sort.
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on the lower right of each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • If you are dissatisfied with your results (you may think that you have too many or too few results or could be more specific), consider using Related searches to run a new search using subjects related to your current search. From the list of Suggested subjects, select College students AND smoking. The difference this time is that you are searching within the subject field whereas before you were searching the full record (with or without full text depending on your default settings).

Note: When you select a Related search, it removes any of your previous limits (such as the date limit we selected earlier for items from 2010 and on). Go back and add your date limit to search for items from 2010 and on and you’ll notice that you have a more refined set than what you began with.

Advanced Search

 You are looking for recent full-text articles on behavior of children with attention deficit disorder (ADHD). 

  • From the Advanced Search page and the first row, type "attention deficit disorder" OR ADHD and then select Document title from the first pull-down menu
  • In the second row, type behav* and then select Subject from the pull-down menu
  • In the third row, type child* and then select Abstract from the pull-down menu  
  • Select the Peer reviewed box
  • Click Search.
  • At the Results page go to Narrow results and then to Publication Date limit. Select the last bar in the chart to choose items published the last five years
  • At the Narrow results go to Subject Limit. Select the box to exclude the subject attention deficit disorder with hyperactivity.
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Save search/alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into Health Research Premium Collection that meet your search criteria.

Browse

1.    You want to see a pre-selected set of articles for Practical Nurses about developmental disorders in the field of pediatrics for an assignment.

  • Click the Browse tab to access this area.
  • Select Practical Nursing under the Study Paths section.
  • Type developmental disorders in the Find Topics box (or expand Tree Topics to discover)
  • Click on View Documents.

 

  • Click the Browse tab to access this area.
  • Select Video Training Programs in the Competency and Training Resources section.
  • Expand Aging: The natural Process > Emotions

NOTE: You can also download the video in different formats using the appropriate Format links. The following formats are available:

.mov - suitable for use with Apple’s QuickTime media player, RealPlayer or Windows Media Player 7 and above

.mp4 - suitable for use with Apple’s QuickTime media player or RealPlayer

Publications

Using the Publications link, locate a particular publication by searching specifically or browsing the list. 

  1. Type in addic* (to reveal results on addiction, addictive, etc.) or just ad* for a list of publications with the letters “ad” in it (addiction, ADHD, etc.)
  2. Scroll down to a publication of interest to you (The ADHD Report, for example)
    • Show format availability by clicking on the link to see what issues are available in full text or Abstract/Details and any embargos that are in force.
    • Search within the publication using the basic search box or clicking on Advanced Search (searching within for therapy)
    • Create an alert so you can be notified when there are new articles on this search within this publication.  From the save search/alert link on the right, choose to send yourself an email of this search or create an RSS feed. 

NOTE:  alerts and RSS feeds can be created in the basic and advanced search as well.