NotebookLearning Center - NEW!Search HistoryResults List
U.S. Federal CensusBooksPERSIFreedman's BankRevWarSerial Set
This is the "About" page of the "HeritageQuest Online" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ProQuest Home ProQuest LibGuides Home About the ProQuest LibGuides Creators Our Webinars Using our LibGuides ProQuest Training Videos ProQuest Trainers on Facebook ProQuest Twitter Image Map

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://proquest.libguides.com/heritagequest Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Did you know...?

ProQuest has the complete index of the 1940 U.S. Federal Census in HeritageQuest® Online! 

The 1940 Census in HeritageQuest includes: 
• 134,867,562 total names (records) 
• 2,267,392 total images 
• 8,588,606,360,349 bytes of content (8.6 terabytes)

A big thanks goes out to all the participants in the 1940 U.S. Census Community Project!  Click HERE to learn more about the project.

 

Did You Know?

There are approximately 3.9 million individuals noted on the 1860 U.S. Census Slave Schedule. That is about 40% of the population of the southern states at the time. 

Browse the 1860 Slave Schedule by:

  1. Selecting "Browse" just under the Census tab of HeritageQuest Online
  2. Choose "1860" from the first drop-down menu
  3. Choose a slave holding state (e.g., Georgia or South Carolina)
  4. Select "SLAVE" in the alphabetical list of Counties
  5. Select "SLAVE" as the locale 

The page will refresh to display the slave schedule for that state, beginning on page one.

 

What is HeritageQuest Online?

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin?

Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.

The collection consists of six core data sets:

U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. In total, the collection covers more than 140 million names.

Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Titles have been digitized from our own renowned microform collections, as well from the American Antiquarian Society via an exclusive partnership.

Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by the Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index of genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2.3 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.

Revolutionary War records contains original images of selected Veteran Administration records pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.

Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.

Plus, with a robust search interface, easy-to-use document management tools, and convenient remote access—it’s easy to see why HeritageQuest continues to be one of the most recommended resources by family history publications and genealogists.

The clues are out there waiting. Let HeritageQuest help you to find them!

 

Using our LibGuides | Suggest a Guide | Webinars & Screencasts | Discover More Corps | ProQuest

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip