LibGuides: History Vault: American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960-1975

American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960-1975

American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960-1975 (Module 8)

Records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies, plus federal agencies.

An exceptional compilation of document types from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues of the challenging times chronicled span women’s rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials.

People

Lyndon B. Johnson
President Lyndon B. Johnson daily diary. Details of meetings and telephone calls. Found in: Daily Diary of President Johnson, 1963-1969. Date: Feb 01, 1967 - Feb 28, 1967.
Lee Harvey Oswald
Handwritten letters by Lee Harvey Oswald. Found in: Papers from the John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection at the National Archives, Part 2: Church Committee Investigation, Section A: General Files. Date: Jan 01, 1961 - Dec 31, 1961.
Joseph A. Califano, Jr.
Joseph A. Califano Jr. papers regarding Cuban exiles, economic conditions, international trade, and subversive activities, January 30-31, 1963 Found in: Papers from the John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection at the National Archives, Part 1: Kennedy Administration Policy toward Cuba. Date: Jan 30, 1963 - Jan 31, 1963.
Bill D. Moyers
Bill D. Moyers files, covering speeches, Peace Corps, volunteers, Latin America, Turkey and Africa. First Peace Corps director justifies and describes program. Found in: War on Poverty, 1964-1968, Part 4: White House Aides Files (McPherson through Wilson). Date: Jan 01, 1961 - Dec 31, 1962.

Organizations

Weather Underground
Weathermen ideology, foreign travel and contacts, and communiques and bombings. Found in: FBI Files on the Weather Underground Organization. Date: Jan 01, 1967 - Dec 31, 1976.
University of California, Berkeley
Testimony, biography and other items on individuals who appeared before PCCU in Washington in July 1970 (2 of 2), May 1968-July 24, 1970. Search other universities to find evidence of campus unrest. Found in: President's Commission on Campus Unrest, Part 1: Executive Files. Date: May 01, 1968 - Jul 24, 1970.
Council of Economic Advisers
Gardner Ackley and Arthur M. Okun files, correspondence with Leon H. Keyserling. Well-known economist and lawyer reflects on plans for monetary policy, output, growth, spending as well as taxation, inflation and unemployment. Found in: Council of Economic Advisers under President Johnson. Date: Sep 10, 1959 - Mar 30, 1967.
National Council on Indian Opportunity
The Eagle's Cry, 1974. Found in: Records of the National Council on Indian Opportunity, 1968-1974, Part 5: Miscellaneous Files and Publications. Date: Jan 01, 1974 - Dec 31, 1974.

Suggested Telephone Calls - Nixon White House

In the Papers of the Nixon White House, there are suggested telephone calls for Nixon. Some of them include annotations that the call was made, but some of them would require further research to find out if Nixon made the call as suggested. The following are examples of some of the people Nixon was encouraged to contact. To find this content use the Advanced Search, search 'suggested telephone call' (no quotes), limit to American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate in the module dropdown menu. After results are returned use facets on the left to limit to the Papers of the NIxon White House Collection.

Christmas telephone calls , Nixon administration name and subject file
Dec 01, 1970 - Dec 31, 1970
Includes lists of suggested presidential supporters for Christmas and New Year's telephone calls including one to J. Edgar Hoover who has "has been getting hit on the head a lot recently" (Page 4)
Documents annotated by President Nixon
Mar 16, 1971 - Mar 31, 1971
Page 33
Suggested call to Mary HIggins who is ill with cancer. Higgins is a supporter of Nixon and kept a photo of him in her office and "really stood up for him when many people asked why she had a picture up of "that has been, "etc.
Note indicates call was made on March 20
Page 35
Suggested call to Dean Gullion, Tuft's Fletcher Institute. Gullion's office has been firebombed, perhpas because he supports Nixon on Vietnam
Can't tell if call was made
Documents annotated by President Nixon,
May 22, 1971 - May 31, 1971
Suggested Call to Ernie Banks, Chicago Cubs First Baseman "To express sympathy over Banks injury which
is causing him to miss his first opening day
game in 18 years and may signal the end of
his career." Page 103
Can't tell if call was made

Events

Watergate Affair
Kirby Jones Papers, Fidel Castro interview (1974), pp. 101-200 What is Castro’s reaction to Watergate? Found in: Papers from the John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection at the National Archives, Part 1: Kennedy Administration Policy toward Cuba. Date: Jan 01, 1974 - Dec 31, 1974.
American Indian Movement
Wounded Knee incident (1973) files, covering Preparations for Grand Jury hearings in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, FBI report regarding negotiations through National Council of Churches and Department of Justice, interviews of Wounded Knee residents, hostages, and ranchers in vicinity, interviews by and of BIA police and U.S. marshals, roadblocks, AIM assault on roadblock number 3, arrests, shots fired, aircraft landing, prosecution, and physical evidence. Eye-witness accounts begin on p. 14. Found in: FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Date: Mar 17, 1973 - Mar 17, 1973.
Anti-War and Anti-Draft Demonstrations
Historian Background Material Files, including the Intelligence estimate of anti-Vietnam War demonstrations. Counter-intelligence research report regarding planned anti-war and anti-draft demonstrations plus descriptions of organizations participating. Found in: U.S. Army Surveillance of Dissidents, 1965-1972: Records of the U.S. Army's ACSI Task Force. Date: Oct 09, 1967 - Oct 09, 1967.
Marijuana Use
Study of the relationship between severity of disposition and subsequent criminal behavior in a sample of youthful marijuana offenders in New York. Marijuana studies including surveys and questionaires. Found in: Records of the National Commission on Marijuana and Drug Abuse, 1970-1973. Date: Jan 01, 1961 - Dec 31, 1961.
Title IX of the Higher Education Act of 1972
Peer perspective, Project on Equal Education Rights, Title IX compliance and sex discrimination in employment complaints. Found in: Citizens Advisory Council on the Status of Women, 1963-1977, Part 2: Subject Files. Date: Jan 01, 1975 - Dec 31, 1976.
Chicago Democratic National Convention
1968 Chicago Democratic National Convention violence, police brutality, aggression against news media and Democratic Party and 1968 election Found in: Johnson Administration's Response to Anti-Vietnam War Activities, Part 2: White House Central Files. Date: Jan 01, 1968 - Dec 31, 1968.
Robert F. Kennedy Assassination
California release of Los Angeles Police Department files from investigation of Robert F. Kennedy assassination "Sirhan Sirhan, in his first television interview, likened his assassination of Sen. Robert Kennedy to a Jew killing Adolf Hitler, but went on to apologize repeatedly for the 1968 slaying," pg. 12; memorial services for Robert F. Kennedy; investigation of assassination re-opened; accusations of evidence-tampering; conspiracy theories surrounding assassination. Found in: Associated Press, Wire Copy on the Assassinations of President John F. Kennedy and Senator Robert F. Kennedy. Date: Jun 10, 1968 - May 30, 1995.