ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA): About

A guide to all aspects of International Index to Performing Arts including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Dance
  • Theater
  • Film
  • Mime
  • Opera
  • Puppetry
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Storytelling
  • Video
  • Performance Art

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Magazines
  • Trade Journals
  • Newspapers
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings

What is International Index to Performing Arts?

Available in both abstract/index and full text versions, the International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – searchable together for the first time in one electronic database.

IIPA is a dynamic bibliographic resource for the performing arts information and research community. The database not only offers access to over 270 performing arts periodicals from 1998 onward but also provides retrospective access to many selected titles – some all the way back to their inception, including Journal of Popular Film & Television and Performing Arts Resources.

The database currently includes over 700,000 records, the majority of which index articles from 1998 onwards. Around 160,000 records in IIPA are from the backfile (up to 1997) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run.

IIPA covers the broadest range of journals – both scholarly and popular – and combines the highest-quality indexing with a superior search engine and interface. This broad journal coverage enables both graduate and undergraduate level research, as well as query handling in the public library setting.

IIPA provides many important benefits to performing arts librarians, bibliographers, researchers, teachers, and students:

  • Currency: IIPA has the most current records; typically, over 40,000 records are added yearly, with monthly updates.
  • Abstracts: Every citation from 1998 forward contains an abstract.
  • Extensive backfile: Only IIPA has such an extensive backfile - from as early as 1864 for indexed titles - available electronically. In addition, over 10 titles are indexed from first issue to last.
  • Multidisciplinary coverage: Including film, drama, dance, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, and more.

Offering complete articles with just a few keystrokes, the International Index to Performing Arts Full Text is a powerful information resource.

Combining the power of access via IIPA's indexing with the added depth of full-text searching, this database delivers complete information from popular and scholarly performing arts journals, such as Theatre Journal and Sight & Sound.

IIPA Full Text contains all of IIPA plus the full text of current articles from over 100 of these journals, including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more.

Beyond the benefits of IIPA, IIPA Full Text adds:

  • Enables users to retrieve details not evident in the title, abstract or index terms.
  • Full Text: IIPA Full Text offers full text for around 100 journals.
  • Full-Text backfiles: IIPA Full Text offers 10 key performance titles from first issue to current.

 

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: