This is the "In the News" page of the "In the News" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ProQuest Home ProQuest LibGuides Home About the ProQuest LibGuides Creators Our Webinars Using our LibGuides ProQuest Training Videos ProQuest Trainers on Facebook ProQuest Twitter Image Map

In the News  

The goal of this guide is to highlight content relevant to current headlines
Last Updated: May 28, 2013 URL: http://proquest.libguides.com/in_the_news Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
In the News Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

This guide highlights Congressional and Statistical publications on topics in the news. 

Where possible, links to documents or searches to retrieve the documents are added.  Because not all documents have durable URLs, may of the titles in the list will be provided through URLs that recreate the search.  If you click on a link and the search screen comes up with the search provided, click on the "search" button to retrieve the document. 

 

May 2013

Hearings on the IRS scandal
Includes transcripts from the 5/22 hearing on Tax-Exempt status, and the 5/21 hearing on the 501(c)(4) status.


Missing Adults: Background, Federal Programs, and Issues for Congress - May 07, 2013 (posted 5/15/2013)
CRS Report. Discusses demographics and record keeping of missing adults and unidentified remains, factors that may contribute to the disappearance of adults, and federally funded databases that are used to track data on missing adults and unidentified individuals. Describes Federal programs and initiatives to assist in locating missing adults, including funding data for FY2003-FY2013; and addresses issues relating to Federal role in missing adult cases.

[DOI Hydraulic Fracturing Rule: A Recipe for Government Waste, Duplication and Delay] - May 8, 2013 (posted 5/15/2013)
Hearing to examine the potential economic impacts of Department of Interior (DOI) proposed regulations for hydraulic fracturing (HF) operations on public lands, and to review existing State HF regulatory approaches.

Census Reform Act of 2013 (H.R. 1638)
A bill to repeal the authority to conduct certain censuses, and for other purposes

[Islamist Extremism in Chechnya: A Threat to the U.S. Homeland?] - April 26, 2013 (posted 5/3/2013)
Hearing before the Subcom on Europe, Eurasia, and Emerging Threats and the Subcom on Terrorism, Nonproliferation, and Trade to examine Islamist extremism in Chechnya and its implications for homeland security in the U.S., in light of recent bombing attacks and subsequent violence in Boston.

U.S.-South Korea Relations - April 26, 2013 (posted 5/3/2013)
CRS Report. Reviews U.S. interests in and relations with South Korea, and examines issues concerning U.S. relations with North Korea. Provides information on recent developments, historical background, impact of North Korea in U.S.-South Korea relations, inter-Korean relations, and South Korean regional relations.

Hydraulic Fracturing and the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA): Selected Issues - April 25, 2013 (posted 5/3/2013)
CRS Report. Provides background on hydraulic fracturing, which involves pumping fluids under high pressure into underground low permeability rock formations to crack them, and recover resulting oil and natural gas. Reviews the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), which requires Federal agencies to consider potential environmental consequences of the actions they propose to take through preparation of one of three NEPA documents.

 

April 2013

Ricin: Technical Background and Potential Role in Terrorism - April 17, 2013 (posted 4/23/2013)
CRS Report. Describes characteristics and effects of toxin ricin, treatment for ricin exposure, and history of ricin usage. Discusses ricin use as a terrorist weapon and its current regulation.


The Chained Consumer Price Index: What Is It and Would It Be Appropriate for Cost-of-Living Adjustments? - April 5, 2013 (posted 4/16/2013)
CRS Report. Discusses BLS new chained CPI for all urban consumers, which is intended to produce a measure of change in consumer prices that is free of substitution bias. Reviews methodological and statistical differences between current and chain-weighted CPI, and examines policy considerations.

North Korea's Nuclear Weapons: Technical Issues - April 3, 2013 (posted 4/9/2013)
CRS Report. Summarizes what is known from open sources about North Korean nuclear weapons production capabilities, including estimates of nuclear warheads and stocks; plutonium production and reactors; uranium enrichment; Oct. 2006, May 2009, and Feb. 2013 nuclear tests; delivery systems; and nuclear doctrine and intent. Assesses current developments in verifying dismantlement of North Korean nuclear facilities, as agreed in the Six-Party Talks; reviews 2012 Leap Day Agreement; and covers proliferation issues and other issues for Congress relating to funding, authority, and policy guidance

Drones in Domestic Surveillance Operations: Fourth Amendment Implications and Legislative Responses - April 03, 2013 (posted 4/9/2013)
CRS Report. Assesses use of drones in domestic surveillance operations, in light of Fourth Amendment right to be free from unreasonable searches and seizures. Explores potential uses of drones in the domestic sphere by Federal, State, and local governments. Surveys current Fourth Amendment jurisprudence, including cases surrounding privacy in the home, privacy in public spaces, location tracking, manned aerial surveillance, and those involving border security.

Gun Control Proposals in the 113th Congress: Universal Background Checks, Gun Trafficking, and Military Style Firearms - April 5, 2013
CRS Report. Provides overview of Federal firearms laws as basis for examining major legislative proposals included in Obama Administration gun control proposals in the 113th Congress. Covers current and proposed regulation of firearms sales though background checks, penalties for gun trafficking, and regulation of specific features of "military style" weapons and ammunition magazines.

 

March 2013

Same-Sex Marriages: Legal Issues
CRS Report. Discusses legal issues surrounding same-sex marriages and P.L. 104-199, the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), which prohibits Federal recognition of same-sex marriages. Examines constitutional challenges to DOMA; interstate recognition of marriage; State litigation, constitutional amendments, and civil union laws; and pending Federal legislation.

Legislative history for the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), P.L. 104-199
from Legislative Insight.

Click here for the DOMA legislative History in Congressional.


[U.S. Policy Toward North Korea] - Mar. 7, 2013 (posted 3/15/2013)
Hearing to examine U.S. policy toward North Korea.

Cybersecurity: Authoritative Reports and Resources - March 08, 2013 (posted 3/15/2013)
CRS Report. Provides links to selected authoritative reports and resources related to cybersecurity issues and challenges. This report is one in a series of updates.

Sequestration as a Budget Enforcement Process: Frequently Asked Questions - Feb. 27, 2013 (posted 3/12/2013)
CRS Report. Provides basic information on general processes associated with sequesters, particularly those sequesters associated with the Budget Control Act of 2011.

Sen. Rand Paul on John Brennan's nomination to be head of the CIA (filibuster)
March 6, 2013 (posted 3/8/2013), from the daily Congressional Record.

Filibusters and Cloture in the Senate - Nov. 29, 2012 (posted 3/8/2013)
CRS Report. Discusses major aspects, impact, and effects of Senate procedure related to filibusters and cloture.

Sequest* in the 113th Congress - (added 3/1/2013)
Saved search using sequest* so will pick up sequester, sequestrations, etc., in document types.

 

February 2013

DNA Testing in Criminal Justice: Background, Current Law, Grants, and Issues - December 06, 2012 (added 2/28/2013)
CRS Report. Provides background on how DNA is used to investigate crimes and help protect the innocent; and reviews current statutory law on collecting DNA samples, sharing DNA profiles generated from those samples, and providing access to post-conviction DNA testing. Summarizes grant programs authorized by Congress to assist State and local governments with reducing DNA backlogs, provide post-conviction DNA testing, and promote new technology in the field. Examines select issues Congress might consider should it legislate or conduct oversight in this area.


American Jihadist Terrorism: Combating a Complex Threat - Jan. 23, 2013 (posted 2/8/2013)
Describes homegrown, violent jihadist-inspired terrorist activity or plots perpetrated within the U.S. or abroad by American citizens, legal permanent residents, or visitors radicalized largely within the U.S. Discusses radicalization process and forces driving violent extremist activity. Analyzes post-9/11 domestic jihadist terrorism, describes law enforcement and intelligence efforts to combat terrorism, and discusses challenges associated with those efforts. Outlines actions underway to build trust and partnership between Islamic community groups and Government agencies, and discusses tensions that may occur between law enforcement and engagement activities.

 

January 2013

[What Should America Do About Gun Violence?] - January 30, 2013 (posted 1/31/2013)
Hearing to examine gun violence issues and legislative proposals, including S.150, the Assault Weapons Ban of 2013, to regulate certain assault weapons.

Includes testimony by former Rep. Gabrielle Giffords.



Updated bibliography: Gun Control
Guide updated 1/17/2013

How Congress works
CRS produces a number of reports about how Congress gets work done - from how the budget process works, to to how to introduce legislation, to preparation for hearings. This saved search pulls all of these CRS Reports since Nov 1, 2012.

Saved search: brady handgun violence prevention act
Added 1/17/2013. Searching Congressional publications.

Search: gun OR handgun
Added 1/17/2013. Searching Political News

The Fiscal Cliff
A saved search (of indexing only) to pull together materials on the Fiscal Cliff. For more/different information, try a full-text search, or searching the Political News. Search covers 12/1/2012-present.

 

December 2012

Proliferation Control Regimes: Background and Status - October 25, 2012 (posted 12/5/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses background and current status of regimes intended to limit the spread of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons and missiles. Reviews history of each regime; treaties, agreements, and U.S. laws that authorize or affect the regime; and regime implementation.

[The Fungal Meningitis Outbreak: Could It Have Been Prevented?] - Nov. 14, 2012 (posted 12/5/2012)
Hearing to examine recent outbreak of fungal meningitis linked to contaminated products made by the New England Compounding Center (NECC), and to consider actions State and Federal authorities could have taken to prevent the outbreak, focusing on responses of FDA and the Massachusetts Board of Health.

 

November 2012




The "Fiscal Cliff": Macroeconomic Consequences of Tax Increases and Spending Cuts - 9/20/2012 (posted 11/8/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses issues relating to "fiscal cliff," which refers to tax increases and spending cuts that would substantially reduce the deficit in 2013. Summarizes size and composition of the fiscal cliff, and provides information on current legislative proposals relating to expiring tax cuts. Reviews aggregate economic and differential effects of components of the fiscal cliff, and addresses policy options. Includes tables.

Taxes and the Economy: An Economic Analysis of the Top Tax Rates Since 1945 - September 14, 2012 (posted 11/2/2012)
A controversial CRS Report is "withdrawn" from circulation after pressure by Senate Republicans. See for yourself what the fuss is about!

Reported in the NYT on 11/2/2012, Examines individual income tax rates since 1945, analyzes whether or not there is an association between the tax rates of the highest income taxpayers and economic growth, and compares top tax rates and income distribution. Includes tables and graphs.

 

November 2012: Elections


2012-2013 Presidential Election Period: National Security Considerations and Options - Oct 5, 2012 (posted 10/29/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses historical national security-related Presidential transition activities, provides representative sampling of national security issues a new Administration may encounter, and offers considerations and options relevant to each of the five phases of the Presidential election period.




News from the Federal Election Commission Published: 2012 - Federal Election Commission, 2012 ASI 9276-1
Call Number: 2012 ASI 9276-1, PDF Available
From Statistical Insight. Elections, procedures, campaign finances, and Fed Election Commission activities, press release series




 

October 2012

Poverty in the United States: 2011 - Sept 27, 2012 (posted 10/14/2012)
CRS Report. Provides overview of U.S. poverty trends among selected demographic groups, including racial and ethnic minorities; nativity and citizenship status; children; adults with low education, unemployment, or disability; and the aged. Reviews trends in welfare receipt among the poor and the geography of poverty, and discusses Bureau of Census new supplemental poverty measure of poverty. Includes tables and graphs.

Senkaku (Diaoyu/Diaoyutai) Islands Dispute: U.S. Treaty Obligations - Sept 25, 2012 (posted 10/15/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses U.S. stance and legal obligations regarding the ongoing three-country dispute over the uninhabited island chain known as the Senkakus in Japan and the Diaoyus in Taiwan and China.

 

September 2012

Family Law: Congress's Authority to Legislate on Domestic Relations Questions - September 13, 2012 (posted 9/28/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses the extent to which Congress is constitutionally authorized to legislate on family law questions. Summarizes general constitutional restraints and the enumerated powers clause. Provides overview of areas in which Congress has authority to legislate, including Federal benefits, taxation, bankruptcy, and Indian affairs; examines indirect approaches taken by Congress to legislate on family law questions; and reviews proposed constitutional amendments to give Congress authority to legislate on marriage and divorce questions.

Arizona v. United States: A Limited Role for States in Immigration Enforcement - September 10, 2012 (posted 9/28/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses Supreme Court ruling in Arizona v. United States, which held that certain aspects of an Arizona statute intended to deter unlawfully present aliens from remaining in the State were preempted by Federal law, but also held that Arizona police were not facially preempted from running immigration status checks on persons stopped for State or local offenses. Considers implications that this decision may have for immigration enforcement activity by States and localities.

Fast and Furious - July 31, 2012 (posted 9/20/2012)
A multi-part Committee Print. This is a saved search to return the parts of the report.



 

August 2012


The Presidential Nominating Process and the National Party Conventions, 2012: Frequently Asked Questions - June 12, 2012 (posted 8/30/2012)
Provides answers to frequently asked questions about the Presidential nominating process, including how delegates to the national conventions are chosen, differences between a caucus and a primary, national party rules changes for 2012, and information on national conventions.

Drought in the United States: Causes and Issues for Congress - August 15, 2012 (posted 8/30/2012)
Examines how drought is defined regionally, describes physical causes of drought, and summarizes its history in the U.S. Discusses periods of drought in the past that equaled or exceeded drought conditions experienced during the 20th century, including periods during earlier centuries when the American West was substantially drier than it is today.

Paul Ryan's Congressional Profile - 112th Congress (posted 8/24/2012)
Through the Congressional Basic Subscription. Includes: his biography, voting record, speeches from the Congressional Record, legislative profile, and more.

LIBOR: Frequently Asked Questions - July 16, 2012 (posted 8/10/2012)
CRS Report. Provides answers to several frequently asked questions regarding the London interbank offer rate (LIBOR), which is an index representing prevailing interest rates in London money markets.

[Drought Forecasting, Monitoring and Decision-Making: A Review of the National Integrated Drought Information System] - July 25, 2012 (posted 8/10/2012)
Hearing to evaluate current drought conditions, and to review drought information services and forecasting programs.

Also considers draft bill, the National Integrated Drought Information System Reauthorization Act of 2012, to extend and revise drought monitoring and forecasting programs of NOAA national integrated drought information system (NIDIS).

Gun Control - CRS
Publication Date: Aug.3, 2012
Discusses salient and recurring gun control issues that have generated past or current congressional interest. Those issues include (1) screening firearms background check applicants against terrorist watch lists, (2) combating gun trafficking and straw purchases, (3) reforming the regulation of federally licensed gun dealers, (4) requiring background checks for private firearms transfers at gun shows, (5) more-strictly regulating certain firearms previously defined in statute as “semiautomatic assault weapons,” and (6) banning or requiring the registration of certain long-range .50 caliber rifles, which are commonly referred to as “sniper” rifles. To set these and other emerging issues in context, this report provides basic firearms-related statistics, an overview of federal firearms law, and a summary of legislative action in the 111th and 112th Congresses.

 

July 2012


Super PACs in Federal Elections: Overview and Issues for Congress - July 13, 2012 (posted 7/24/2012)
CRS Report. Provides overview of new political action committees known as super PACs, or independent-expenditure-only committees, which are comprised of individuals, corporations, and unions that are permitted to contribute as much as they wish to advocate the election or defeat of Federal candidates. Explores what super PACs are, how they developed, what they raised and spent in the 2010 election cycle, preliminary analysis of 2012 activity, potential issues, and possible impact of super PACs on Federal campaign finance policy and Federal elections.

[The Role of Research Universities in Securing America's Future Prosperity: Challenges and Expectations] - June 27, 2012 (posted 7/9/2012)
Hearing to examine the challenges faced by U.S. research universities, and to review related recommendations from a recently released National Academies report.

The Presidential Nominating Process and the National Party Conventions, 2012: Frequently Asked Questions - June 12, 2012 (posted 7/9/2012)
CRS Report. Provides answers to frequently asked questions about the Presidential nominating process, including how delegates to the national conventions are chosen, differences between a caucus and a primary, national party rules changes for 2012, and information on national conventions.

Drought in the United States: Causes and Issues for Congress - June 12, 2012 (posted 7/9/2012)
CRS Report. Examines how drought is defined regionally, describes physical causes of drought, and summarizes its history in the U.S. Discusses periods of drought in the past that equaled or exceeded drought conditions experienced during the 20th century, including periods during earlier centuries when the American West was substantially drier than it is today.

 

June 2012

Same-Sex Marriages: Legal Issues - June 8, 2012 (posted 6/18/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses legal issues surrounding same-sex marriages and P.L. 104-199, the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), which prohibits Federal recognition of same-sex marriages. Examines constitutional challenges to DOMA; interstate recognition of marriage; State litigation, constitutional amendments, and civil union laws; and pending Federal legislation.

[Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future] - June 7, 2012 (posted 6/18/2012)
Hearing to examine findings and recommendations of the Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future (BRC) Jan. 2012 report on long-term management and disposal of spent nuclear reactor fuel and high-level radioactive waste.

[International Proposals To Regulate the Internet] - May 31, 2012 (posted 6/18/2012)
Hearing to examine U.S. concerns and legislative measures regarding international proposals to regulate the Internet through the UN, including H. Con. Res. 127, to express opposition to international regulation of the Internet.

[Poaching in Africa] - May 24, 2012 (posted 6/18/2012)
Hearing to examine the security and other global implications of poaching in Africa, focusing on ivory and rhino horn trafficking and related legislative proposals, including: S. 1483 and S. 2318,


 

May 2012


[Tsunami Generated Marine Debris] - May 17, 2012 (posted 5/29/2012)
Hearing to examine NOAA and Coast Guard response to marine debris generated by tsunami following Mar. 11, 2011, earthquake off the coast of Japan.

Understanding China's Political System - May 10, 2012 (posted 5/22/2012)
CRS Report. Profiles contemporary political system in China, analyzing main institutional actors and their interactions. Examines features of Chinese formal political culture, governance challenges in Chinese political system, Chinese political institutions, other political actors, and Chinese authorities view of political reform.

[Running on Empty: The Effects of High Gasoline Prices on Small Businesses] - May 9, 2012 (posted 5/22/2012)
Hearing to examine factors contributing to, and small business impacts of, recent oil and gasoline price increases.


Requiring Parental Involvement in a Pregnant Minor's Abortion Decision: State Laws and Recent Developments - Apr. 26, 2012 (posted 5/5/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses validity of State parental involvement laws in the context of Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, Ayotte v. Planned Parenthood of Northern New England, and other Supreme Court cases addressing a minor's right to choose whether to terminate her pregnancy. Considers common State parental involvement law provisions, such as judicial bypass procedures and exceptions for medical emergencies, and highlights pending Federal parental involvement legislation.

Law Day
Designating first day of May of each year as Law Day, U.S.A.
"...to point out the contrast between freedom under law and governmental tyranny"

 

April 2012

Mad Cow Disease and U.S. Beef Trade - June 4, 2008 (posted 4/25/2012)
CRS Report. Examines impact of the discovery of bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE), also known as "mad cow disease," in a U.S. dairy cow in Dec. 2003. Reviews price and trade effects of the BSE discovery; summarizes other countries experiences with BSE, including Canada; and describes progress of and prospects for beef trade with Japan and Korea.

Lean Finely Textured Beef: The "Pink Slime" Controversy - Apr. 6, 2012 (posted 4/25/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses use of lean finely textured beef (LFTB) in U.S. ground beef supply, in light of recent consumer backlash following media implication that there are food safety issues with LFTB due to use of ammonium gas as an antimicrobial intervention in LFTB production. Examines definitions of ground beef and LFTB, regulationand labeling requirements for ammonium hydroxide, media depiction of LFTB in the as "pink slime" and impacts, food safety concerns, and issues for Congress.

Federal Depository Library Program: Issues for Congress - April 13, 2012 (posted 4/25/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses GPO Federal depository library program (FDLP), which provides free public access to Federal Government information. Discusses current proposals, actions, issues, and concerns related to transition to digital information; and examines their implications for FDLP.

[GSA's Squandering of Taxpayer Dollars: A Pattern of Mismanagement, Excess, and Waste] - Apr. 17, 2012 (posted 4/24/2012)
Hearing to examine allegations of wasteful spending and employee misconduct at GSA Public Buildings Service (PBS) Oct. 2010 Western Regions' conference outside of Las Vegas, Nev., and to review GSA measures taken in response to findings of GSA Office of the Inspector General (OIG) report detailing results of its investigation into events at the conference.

Stand Your Ground - Mar 19 - forward (posted 4/24/2012)
Speeches in the Congressional Record on the Stand Your Ground legislation in Florida and other states.

"Titanic" Disaster - Apr. 19, 20, 22-27, 29, 30, May 1-4, 9, 16, 18, 25, 1912 (posted 4/10/2012)
Titanic disaster investigation. Apr. 19 and 20 hearings were held in New York City.
Note: This hearing is also in the Serial Set as 6167 S.doc.726

Hazing in the Military - Mar 22, 2012 (posted 4/3/2012)
Hearing to examine hazing in the military, focusing on varied nature of hazing, military service branch policies and training to prevent it, and related investigation and enforcement issues.

 

March 2012

Requiring Individuals to Obtain Health Insurance: A Constitutional Analysis - Nov. 15, 2011 (posted 3/28/2012)
CRS Report. Analyzes constitutional issues raised by passage of P.L. 111-148, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, which requires individuals to purchase health insurance. Analyzes authority of Congress to pass a proposal to this effect; and considers how a court could analyze constitutional challenges to this type of proposal on grounds of due process, equal protection, takings clause, or the Federalist principle as enshrined in the Tenth Amendment. Assesses whether there must be exceptions to a requirement to purchase health insurance based on First Amendment freedom of religion. Summarizes legal challenges to the individual responsibility requirement.

Women in the United States Congress: 1917-2012 - Mar. 7, 2012 (posted 3/23/2012)
CRS Report. Lists women elected and appointed to Congress, with party affiliations, States represented, dates served, Committee assignments, and chairmanships held, 1917-2012.

Situation in Syria - March 7, 2012 (posted 3/23/2012)
Hearing to examine developments and human rights situation in and U.S. policy toward Syria, in light of President Bashar al-Assad Government violent response to Syria pro-democracy movement.



[Dental Crisis in America: The Need to Expand Access] - Feb 29, 2012 (posted 3/12/2012)
Hearing before the Subcom on Primary Health and Aging to examine major current challenges in, and options for, providing oral health services to entire population.

Preventive Health Services Regulations: Religious Institutions' Objections to Contraceptive Coverage - Feb. 22, 2012 (posted 3/12/2012)
CRS Report. Reviews provisions in P.L. 111-148, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, that require health plans and health insurers to cover certain recommended preventive health services, including contraceptive services, without cost sharing. Summarizes legal exemptions for religious organizations with objections to the requirements, and examines State court decisions upholding similar requirements....


Executive Overreach: The HHS (Health and Human Services Department) Mandate Versus Religious Liberty - Feb. 28, 2012 (posted 3/3/2012)
Hearing of the House Judiciary Committee, Witnesses: Bishop William Lori, Chairman, Ad Hoc Committee for Religious Liberty, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops; Asma Uddin, Attorney, Becket Fund for Religious Liberty; Dr. Linda Rosenstock, M.D., M.P.H., Dean, School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles; Jeanne Monahan, Director, Center for Human Dignity, Family Research Council

Women's Health - Feb. 23, 2012 (posted 3/3/2012)
Hearing of the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee. Witness: Sandra Fluke.

 

February 2012

Financial Performance of the Major Oil Companies, 2007-2011 - Feb 17, 2012 (posted 2/16/2012)
CRS Report. Examines financial performance of five major oil companies between 2007-2011, analyzing oil prices, oil company revenues and profits, capital budgets, and returns to investors. Includes tables.

Unrest in Syria and U.S. Sanctions Against the Asad Regime - Feb. 16, 2012 (posted 2/26/2012)
CRS Report. Analyzes current unrest in Syria and U.S. response to Syrian Government crackdown against demonstrators. Provides background information on U.S. sanctions against the Asad regime and its supporters.

[The Video Privacy Protection Act: Protecting Viewer Privacy in the 21st Century] - Jan. 31, 2012 (posted 2/16/2012)
Hearing before the Subcom on Privacy, Technology, and the Law to examine efficacy of the Video Privacy Protection Act (VPAA) of 1988 to protect consumer privacy in the face of new communications technologies in the 21st century.

Also considers H.R. 2471, to permit video tape service providers to obtain consumer's informed, written consent on an ongoing basis, including through the Internet.

Federal Rules and Religiously-Affiliated Entities - Feb. 16, 2012 (posted 2/17/2012)
Hearing on the Department of Health and Human Services' new directive obligating religious organizations employing or serving members of other faiths to provide contraception as part of their insurance coverage.

Iran Sanctions - Jan. 26, 2012 (posted 2/9/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses legislative history, provisions, interpretations, and implementation of the Iran Sanctions Act (ISA), which mandates U.S. penalties against foreign companies determined to have invested in Iran energy sector; and identifies enhancements to ISA under P.L. 111-195, the Comprehensive Iran Sanctions, Accountability, and Divestment Act.

[Outlook for the Eurozone]
Hearing to examine outlook for the European debt crisis, and to review implications for the U.S. and global economy.
BACKGROUND AND CONTEXT: Many economists agree that countries in the Eurozone are experiencing a recession, and increasing debts impact their ability to respond to the economic downturn. The financial situation in Europe has implications for the U.S. and other economies.

 

January 2012

The Early Agenda of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: The Nonbank Supervision Program - Jan 20, 2012 (posted 1/31/2012)
CRS Report. Provides overview of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Financial Protection Act, to consolidate many existing consumer financial protection responsibilities into one agency, and to implement and enforce Federal consumer financial law while ensuring that consumers can access financial products and services.


Millennium Challenge Corporation - Jan. 10, 2012 (posted 1/25/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses steps involved in and issues relating to implementation of the Millennium Challenge Corp. (MCC), established to administer the Millennium Challenge Account to distribute U.S. foreign aid to and fund economic development in poverty stricken developing countries that meet and demonstrate a commitment to specified economic, humanitarian, and political criteria.

Horn of Africa Region: The Humanitarian Crisis and International Response - Jan. 6, 2012 (posted 1/25/2012)
CRS Report. Examines current status of crisis in the Horn of Africa resulting from its worst drought in 60 years, regional conflicts, and conflict within states. Provides background on the region, which includes Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, and Somalia. Reviews international and U.S. humanitarian response to date, issues for Congress, and prospects.

Recess Appointments: Frequently Asked Questions - January 9, 2012 (posted 1/15/2012)
CRS Report. Supplies brief answers to some frequently asked questions regarding the recess appointments clause in the Constitution, under which the President is allowed to fill certain vacancies without the consent of the Senate during a Congressional recess.

Iran: U.S. Concerns and Policy Responses - January 4, 2012 (posted 1/15/2012)
CRS Report. Reviews U.S. threat assessments and concerns regarding Iran. Examines regime structure, stability, and opposition in Iran; outcome of elections; human rights practices; strategic capabilities and weapons of mass destruction programs; and foreign policy and support for terrorist groups.

Kim Jong-Il's Death: Implications for North Korea's Stability and U.S. Policy - Dec 22, 2012 (posted 1/15/2012)
CRS Report. Discusses recent death of North Korean leader Kim Jong-il and succession of his son Kim Jong Un, and considers implications of these events on political stability of North Korea.

Presidential Nominating Process: Current Issues - Nov. 10, 2011 (posted 1/3/2012)
CRS Report. Reviews current issues and complaints regarding the nominating system for selecting party candidates for President. Covers 2008 election, evolution of the system, national party rules changes for 2012, current primary system, reform proposals, and legislative considerations for changing the system.

[What the Euro Crisis Means for Taxpayers and the U.S. Economy, Pt. II] - Dec. 16, 2012 (posted 1/3/2012)
Continuation of hearings to examine the euro crisis and its effect on the U.S. economy.

 

December 2011

Dec 2011 debate on the Payroll Tax
In the Congressional Record

The Temporary Payroll Tax Reduction: A Brief Description and Economic Analysis - Dec. 6, 2011 (posted 12/26/2011)
CRS Report. Discusses economic stimulus considerations related to temporary reduction in payroll tax for workers, in light of proposals to extend or modify temporary reduction in social security payroll taxes.

Double-Dip Recession: Previous Experience and Current Prospects - Dec 9, 2011 (posted 12/26/2011)
CRS Report. Discusses factors indicating increased risk of double-dip recession and other factors predicting continued economic recovery. Presents historical experience with double-dip recessions, and examines role of deleveraging household and business use of debt in aftermath of recent financial crisis in shaping the likely pace of economic recovery. Summarizes current economic projections.

Keystone XL Pipeline Project: Key Issues - Dec. 1, 2011 (posted 12/15/2011)
CRS Report. Describes proposed TransCanada Keystone XL pipeline project, which would transport crude oil from Alberta, Canada to refineries in the Gulf Coast and Midwest region.

The Distribution of Household Wealth - Dec. 2, 2011, 13pp. (posted 12/11/2011)
CRS Report. Examines trends in the distribution of household wealth, including mean and median household net worth, and the distribution of net worth, income, and household saving; and reviews efforts to explain the distribution of wealth.

[Medicating America's Foster Children] - Dec. 1, 2011 (posted 12/11/2011)
Hearing before the Subcom on Federal Financial Management, Government Information, Federal Services, and International Security to examine the financial and societal costs of overmedicating America's foster children, focusing on potential strategies to improve HHS guidance on and State oversight of psychotropic prescriptions.

Distribution of Household Income and the Middle Class - Nov. 9, 2011 (posted 12/2/2011)
CRS Report. Presents brief analysis of the distribution of household income for 2009, and reviews absolute income and relative income of the middle class.

[Exploring Mars and Beyond: What's Next for U.S. Planetary Science] - Nov. 15, 2011 (posted 12/2/2011)
Hearing before the Subcom on Space and Aeronautics to examine U.S. planetary science

 

November 2011

Thanksgiving (Spotlight on Statistics) - Nov 2009 (posted 11/21/2011)
Call Number: 2010 ASI 6726-4.6
Thanksgiving holiday-related employment, volunteering, and time spent in other activities, various periods 2004-09.

Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004: "Lone Wolf" Amendment to the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act - Dec. 29, 2004 (posted 11/21/2011)
CRS Report. Examines the "lone wolf" provision of P.L. 108-458, the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004, to allow law enforcement surveillance of foreign persons engaged in terrorism who may not be agents of foreign governments or terrorist groups.

STOCK Act - Speeches starting Nov 15, 2011 (posted 11/18/2011)
Speeches from the Congressional Record on the STOCK Act (Stop Trading on Congressional Knowledge Act).

Pizza as a Vegetable in School Lunches - Speeches starting Nov 16, 2011 (posted 11/18/2011)
Speeches in the Congressional Record on whether or not pizza should be considered a vegetable in school lunches.

Trends in the Distribution of Household Income Between 1979 and 2007 - 2011 (posted 11/11/2011)
Call Number: ASI 26306-6.296, PDF Available
Report on trends in the distribution of household income, 1979-2007. Data are from IRS and Census Bureau. The data may be used to study wealth distribution and income disparity in the U.S.

[The Trafficking in Persons Report 2011: Truth, Trends, and Tier Rankings] - Oct 27. 2011 (posted 11/10/2011)
Hearing to examine trafficking in persons. Witnesses include: Luis C. Debaca (Ambassador-at-Large, Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons, Department of State), Robert O. Blake (Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs, Department of State), and Joseph Y. Yun (Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs).



Distribution of Household Wealth - May 16, 2011 (posted 11/2/2011)
CRS Report. Examines trends in the distribution of household wealth, including mean and median household net worth, and the distribution of net worth, income, and household saving; and reviews efforts to explain the distribution of wealth.


 

October 2011

Captive Wildlife Safety Act, PL 108-191 - Dec. 19, 2003 (posted 10/26/2011)
Legislative History. Prohibits and establishes criminal and civil penalties for interstate and foreign trade in certain species of animals, including lions, tigers, cheetahs, jaguars, cougars, and hybrids of those species.

Libya: Unrest and U.S. Policy - Sept 29, 2011 (posted 10/24/2011)
CRS Report. Provides background on 2011 popular revolt against Muammar al Qadhafi and resulting armed conflict between opposition activists and Libya Government security forces. Assesses status of this conflict as of Sept. 9, 2011, and considers prospects and challenges for U.S. policy. Examines Libyan political dynamics, and profiles various opposition groups.

[STEM the Tide: Should America Try To Prevent an Exodus of Foreign Graduates of U.S. Universities with Advanced Science Degrees] - Oct. 5, 2011 (posted 10/24/2011)
Hearing to examine examine trends and immigration policy options regarding foreign graduates of U.S. universities.

[European Debt and Financial Crisis] - Sept 22, 2011 (posted 10/10/2011)
Hearing to examine the European debt and financial crisis, focusing on origins, options and implications for the U.S. and global economy

Congress Must Address Wall Street Greed - Oct 6, 2011 (posted 10/7/2011)
Speech in the Congressional Record by Rep. Kaptur (D-OH) introducing twelve bills addressing Wall Street Greed.

The American Awakening - Oct. 5, 2011 (posted 10/6/2011)
Speech in the Congressional Record by Rep. DeFazio (D-OR) on the protests on Wall Street.


Presidential Nominating Process: Current Issues - Sept 20, 2011 (posted 10/3/2011)
CRS Report. Reviews current issues and complaints regarding the nominating system for selecting party candidates for President.

He's Making It Worse, Fast Facts - August 16, 2011 (posted 10/3/2011)
Commttee Print. Republican Policy Committee paper critiquing the effects of Obama Administration economic policies since Inauguration Day, 2009.

 

September 2011

Social Media and Disasters: Current Uses, Future Options, and Policy Considerations - Sept 6, 2011 (posted 9/27/2011)
CRS Report summarizing how social media have been used by emergency management officials and agencies, including lessons learned and best practices. Examines potential benefits and policy implications of using social media in the context of emergencies and disasters.

[Promoting Peace? Reexamining U.S. Aid to the Palestinian Authority, Part II] - Sept. 14, 2011 (posted 9/22/2011)
Hearing with the following witnesses: Chaired by: Representative Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL) Witnesses: Elliott Abrams, Senior Fellow for Middle Eastern Studies, Council on Foreign Relations; James Phillips, Senior Research Fellow for Middle Eastern Affairs, The Heritage Foundation; Jonathan Schanzer, Vice President of Research, Foundation for Defense of Democracies; David Makovsky, Distinguished Fellow and Director of Project on the Middle East Peace Process, The Washington Institute

Congressional Primer on Major Disasters and Emergencies - Aug. 31, 2011 (posted 9/22/2011)
CRS Report. Provides background on disaster response, including disaster and emergency declarations, legislative framework for providing Federal assistance, and policies employed by executive branch to provide supplemental help to State and local governments during time of disasters.

Hurricane Irene Top Story for Public. Libya: Heavy Coverage, Little Interest - Pew Research Center for The People & The Press (posted 9/22/2011)
Call Number: 2011 SRI R8591-519
Report on the News Interest Index, for Aug. 25-28, 2011.

I Am An American Day Act - September 17, 1940, (posted 9/20/2011)
Call Number: 54 Stat. 178, ch. 183
Joint Resolution authorizing the President of the United States of America to proclaim I Am An American Day, for the recognition, observance, and commemoration of American citizenship

Patriotic and National Observances, Ceremonies, and Organizations Laws
Call Number: 105 P.L. 225
Publication Date: AUG. 12, 1998
Committee Print. Designating September 17 through September 23 as Constitution Week

Staff Report: [National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the U.S.] - Aug. 26, 2004, (posted 9/10/2011)
A committee print containing chronology of events of the morning of 9/11/2001.

9/11 Commission Report, Final Report - July 2001 (posted 9/10/2011)
A committee print with the Final report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the U.S. (9/11 Commission).

Impact of Climate Change on Hurricane Damages in the US - Feb 2011. (posted 9/10/2011)
World Bank report, 2011 IIS 4530-S37.774 (PDF available)

Employment Situation - BLS, monthly report (posted 9/10/2011)
2011 ASI 6742-5 (PDF Available)

 

August 2011


[Southern Kordofan: Ethnic Cleansing and Humanitarian Crisis in Sudan] - Aug. 4, 2011 (posted 8/13/2011)
Hearing to examine humanitarian crisis in southern Sudan, focusing on ethnic cleansing developments in the Sudanese state of Southern Kordofan.

[Drought and Famine in the Horn of Africa] - August 3, 2011 (posted 8/10/2011)
Hearing before the Subcom on African Affairs to examine international relief efforts to combat drought and famine in the Horn of Africa

Military Funeral Honors and Military Cemeteries: Frequently Asked Questions - July 29, 2011, 9 pp. (posted 8/10/2011)
CRS report answering frequently asked questions regarding DOD military funeral honors and military cemeteries, including eligibility criteria, required components of the honor detail, and details of the funeral ceremony.
This report is one in a series of updates.

 

July 2011


Yellowstone River Oil Spill - July 20, 2011 (posted July 30, 2011)
Hearing on the July 1 oil spill in the Yellowstone River in Montana.


Introducing H. Res 361 - July 20, 2011 (posted 7/23/2011)
A resolution (in the Congressional Record) concerning efforts to provide humanitarian relief to mitigate the effects of drought and avert famine in the Horn of Africa, particularly Somalia, Ethiopia, Djibouti, and Kenya; to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Mountaintop Mining: Background on Current Controversies - July 7, 2011 (posted 7/16/2011)
CRS Report. Provides background on current controversies surrounding negative environmental impact of mountaintop coal mining on water supply and quality of valley rivers and streams.

Congratulating the U.S. Women's National Soccer Team - July 12, 2011 (posted 7/14/2011)
Congressional Record, (short) speech by Rep. Cohen congratulating the team and relating that to the debt crisis.

The Republic of South Sudan: Opportunities and Challenges for Africa's Newest Country - July 1, 2011, 26 pp. (posted 7/14/2011)
CRS Report, Examines opportunities and challenges facing South Sudan in light of its upcoming declaration of independence from Sudan on July 9, 2011.

Somalia Outlook - July 7, 2011 (posted July 14, 2011)
Hearing "Assessing the Consequences of the Failed State of Somalia"

The Debt Limit: History and Recent Increases - July 1, 2011 (posted 7/14/2011)
CRS Report. Provides background on and history of Federal debt limit, and explains need to increase Federal debt limit. Examines Federal debt situation between 2002-2010 and efforts to resolve debt limit issue in 2002.

Legislative Procedures for Adjusting the Public Debt Limit: A Brief Overview - May 2, 2011 (posted 7/8/2011)
CRS Report. Provides overview of legislative procedures to adjust the public debt limit, including Gephardt rule procedures established under P.L. 96-78, P.L. 107-199, and budget reconciliation processes established under the Congressional Budget Act of 1974. Includes a list of public laws and Statutes at Large citations for laws adjusting the public debt limit, enacted from 1993-2010.

[Wildfire Management Programs] - June 14, 2011 (posted 7/8/2011)
Hearing to examine wildfire management programs of the Federal land management agencies.

 

June 2011

Middle Class Families - June 23, 2011
Hearing to look at the economic problems of the middle class.

Abortion and Family Planning-Related Provisions in U.S. Foreign Assistance Legislation and Policy - June 22, 2011
CRS Report. Examines key legislation and policies that restrict or place requirements on U.S. funding of abortion or voluntary family planning activities as part of U.S. foreign assistance. Discusses when and how policies were introduced, and explains types of foreign aid to which they apply.

Diabetes Research - June 22, 2011
A hearing to examine what is often a devastating impact that juvenile diabetes has had on an estimated 3 million America children and their families and potential cures.

Missouri-Souris Project, Montana and North Dakota general map - April 21, 1944
A 1944 map from the Serial Set showing irrigation projects on the Missouri and Souris Rivers in northwestern North Dakota and northeastern Montana. Power plants, canals, pumping plants, reservoirs, proposed reservoirs, and diversion dams shown. Drainage features, rail lines, counties, and towns noted. Public land survey grid is shown. Locator map provided.

Sudan: The Crisis in Darfur and Status of the North-South Peace Agreement - June 15, 2011
CRS Report that discusses recent developments in Darfur region of Sudan related to Apr. 2010 elections and more.

[Best Practices and Next Steps: A New Decade in the Fight Against Human Trafficking] - June 13, 2011.
Hearing to examine human trafficking prevention developments and strategies.

War Powers Resolution: Presidential Compliance - June 10, 2011, 25 pp.
CRS Report. Examines Congressional-executive division of authority under the War Powers Resolution, including powers relating to military interventions and peacekeeping missions, UN actions, and U.S. involvement in Bosnia, Kosovo, Haiti, Iraq, and Somalia. Identifies instances of formally reported use of War Powers Resolution and issues before Congress.


Afghanistan: Post-Taliban Governance, Security, and U.S. Policy - June 3, 2011
CRS Report, Provides historical background on the political instability of Afghanistan, and reviews recent developments in Afghanistan's political transition to democracy.

[Sony and Epsilon: Lessons for Data Security Legislation] - June 2, 2011
Hearing with executives from Sony and Epsilon testifying on cyber crime and data security.

Memorial day address by Reed Smoot at Arlington, Virginia - June 1, 1914
Serial Set. A moving tribute by a great orator on "Decoration Day" (25 Stat. 353) later known as Memorial Day.

 

May 2011

[Continuation of the National Emergency with Respect to Syria,Communication from the President of the United States].
Transmittal, dated May 18, 2011, of notice (text, p. 3-5), in accordance with the National Emergencies Act, extending beyond May 11, 2011, the national emergency declared in response to certain acts of the Government of Syria that pose a threat to national security, including support for terrorism, pursuit of weapons of mass destruction, and undermining of Iraq stabilization and reconstruction efforts.

International Monetary Fund: Selecting a Managing Director
A CRS Report from 5/20/2011, Examines status of 2011 Managing Director selection, following resignation of Dominique Strauss-Kahn in May 18, 2011.

Mississippi River, Morganza Project, 1927
Map (from the Serial Set) shows existing levees, proposed levees and levees to be removed for the flood control project.



Peace Corps at 50
May 11, 2011 hearing before the House Foreign Affairs Committee detailing experiences of women who have joined the Peace Corps.


Speeches on the death of Osama bin Laden
Searches the Congressional Record May 1-5, 2011 for speeches about Osama bin Laden.

Regions flooded in 1927 (Mississippi River)
Map (from the Serial Set) shows Lower Mississippi River Basin, Cairo, Ill. to mouth of river. Areas noted are alluvial bottom land subject to overflow and the entire flooded area in 1927. Major drainage features are shown. Figure 1.


Tornado Fatality Information
Call Number: ASI 2184-14 (Search Statistical Insight by ASI number for most current issue)
Tornado damage and deaths, by storm intensity and State, annual rpt.

112th Congress Membership
April 2011, CRS report detailing various demographics of the 112th Congress.

 

April 2011

Super Tuesday Tornado Outbreak of Feb. 5-6, 2008. - National Weather Service
Call Number: 2009 ASI 2186-6.50
Tornadoes in Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Alabama, storm characteristics, deaths and injuries, and Natl Weather Service forecast accuracy, Feb 2008

Unrest in Northern Africa
A subject search (international relations and revolutions) that captures CRS reports this year on the unrest in northern Africa.

Shifting Sands: Political Transitions in the Middle East, Part 1
April 13, 2011, hearing before the Subcom on Middle East and South Asia to examine political transitions in the Middle East.

Financial Literacy
April 12, 2011, hearing to examine financial literacy promotion, focusing on the Federal Government role in empowering Americans to make informed financial decisions.

Hydraulic Fracturing and Safe Drinking Water Act Issues
April 7, 2011 CRS Report, providing background on hydraulic fracturing; reviews past and proposed treatment of hydraulic fracturing under the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA),

CRS reports on Japan from March-April 2011
There are more than a dozen CRS reports about Japan, the earthquake, following tsunami, and the nuclear plant crisis there. This search pulls all of them back for you.

Congressional Responses to Selected Work Stoppages in Professional Sports
Mar 24, 2011 report examining Congressional responses to National Football League (NFL) strikes in 1982 and 1987 as well as the 1994 Major League Baseball strike, in light of possible NFL lockout in 2011.

Shutdown of the Federal Government: Causes, Processes, and Effects
March 11 CRS Report; describes in detail how the government implements a shutdown (there is a contingency plan in place), and what services are affected.

 

March 2011

Speeches about the recent tragedy in Japan
Searches the Congressional Record from March 10-31, 2011 for references to Japan and brings back speeches about the earthquake, tsunami, and problems with nuclear plants in Japan.

Hearings March 16 & 17
On March 16 and 17 several hearings were held referencing the crisis in Japan. This search brings up those files.
A search for "nuclear and japan" brings up many more files, so might be interesting to those wanting everything available.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Information Digest, 2009-2010
Call Number: 2009 ASI 9634-22, PDF Available (use Statistical Insight link, left, to search for abstract no.)
App. J-K. World nuclear power reactors, with tables showing number and net generation of units in operation and under construction or ordered, by country; and number and net generation of units in operation, by reactor type; as of Dec. 31, 2008. (p. 134-135)

Geography of Japan: Map of Japan from the Perry Expedition of 1852-54
The Bay of Senday (sic) and city of Sendai are just to the west of the "c" in Pacific.

Islamic Radicalization
March 10, 2011, hearing before House Homeland Security Committee on Islamic Radicalization in the U.S.

Information Sharing in the Era of Wikileaks
March 10, 2011, hearing of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee.

 

February 2011

Libya: Background and U.S. Relations
Feb 25 CRS Report providing background information on Libyan history and U.S.-Libya relations, in light of 2011 anti-government unrest and violence in Libya. Discusses current political and economic structure and dynamics; profiles Libyan military and weapons of mass destruction disarmament; reviews era of Libyan leader Muammar Al Qadhafi and his terrorist ties; and outlines current issues in U.S.-Libyan relations.

[Declaration of a National Emergency with Respect to Libya, Message from the President of the United States].
Call Number: H. Doc. 112-11
Transmittal, dated Feb. 21, 2011, of notice (text, p. 3), in accordance with the International Emergency Economic Powers Act and the National Emergencies Act, providing for the blocking of property of certain individuals alleged to have engaged in activities that undermine democratic processes in Libya.

Union Membership (by state) listed in - Datapedia of the U.S.: American History in Numbers, Fourth Edition, 2007
Call Number: 2010 SRI C1042-1, PDF Available (use Statistical Insight link, left, to search for abstract no.)
Table 10.9-10.12. Labor union members and membership rate, 1930-2006; work stoppages, workers involved, and days idle, 1927-2006; work injury rates in manufacturing and mining, 1972-2004; and Federal minimum wages in current and constant dollars, 1938-2006. (p. 224-228).

Union Members in 2009
Call Number: 2010 ASI 6726-1.281, PDF Available (use Statistical Insight link, left, to search for abstract no.)
Data are for 2008-09. Union affiliation is union membership and representation and nonunion.

 

January 2011

Egypt: The January 25 Revolution and Implications for U.S. Foreign Policy
Jan 25 CRS Report providing overview of developments and issues in Egypt and U.S.-Egyptian relations, in light of current revolution in Egypt and public unrest elsewhere in the Arab world. Presents chronology of revolution, and summarizes U.S. response.

Violence Against Members of Congress and Their Staff: Selected Examples and Congressional Responses
Jan 25 CRS Report, describes legislation introduced in the 112th Congress related to violence against members and Congressional staff, in light of recent attack in Tucson, Ariz.... Provides examples of violence in which members of Congress and Congressional staff were the apparent target, and reviews actions Congress has taken in response to those incidents.

House Apportionment 2010: States Gaining, Losing, and on the Margin
Jan 13 CRS Report. Discusses changes in the apportionment of House of Representatives seats based on a Dec. 2010 release of year 2010 population figures. Provides list of States that will be losing or gaining seats, and reviews priority lists and seat assignments, options for States losing seats, and redistricting process.

Using our LibGuides | Suggest a Guide | Webinars & Screencasts | Discover More Corps | ProQuest

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip