Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

JP Morgan Research : Sample Searches

The database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries.

Search ABI/INFORM

Links to ABI/INFORM

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to ABI/INFORM Complete. For alternative methods of authentication and links to ABI/INFORM Global, please see the documents in the Additional Materials page.

Sample Searches

Basic Search      

You need to write a paper on the effect of telecommuting on human resources.

  • Type telecommuting and human resources into the Basic Search box or use the widget on the left.  

Note: The widget will only work if you are already authenticated to your organization’s ABI/INFORM account. If it does not work, please login through your organization’s library to access ABI/INFORM directly. If you have questions about accessing your ProQuest databases, please contact your local librarian.

  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature.
  • From the Narrow results by and the Source Type limit, select to view Trade Journals.
  • Then click More options under the Subject limit and select to include telecommuting AND human resource management AND advantages. Click Apply to add the subject limits to your search.
  • Also from the Narrow results by, go to the Date limit and drag the first gray handle over toward the right side of the bar chart to limit your search to more recent items. Drag the handle over to search on items published from 2009 – 2011 and click update.
  • Go to the top of the results page to the Sort results by pull-down menu (just above the Narrow results by) and resort your items by Date (most recent first) and click Sort.
  • To begin reviewing your results, hover over the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Citation & Abstract link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.

Advanced Search

You want to find articles on the current economic conditions in China.

  • From the Advanced Search page and the first pull-down menu in the first search row, select Location.
  • Type China in the first search box.
  • From the second pull-down menu in the second search row, select Subject Headings (all).
  • Use the Look up Subjects hyperlink that appears just below the selected field to search for the available and relevant subject terms.
  • Type economic conditions and select the option "Begins with (enter at least 2 characters)."
  • Select economic conditions & forecasts from the list of subject terms and click Add to search.
  • In the Advanced Search page, go to the Search options section and adjust the Date range pull-down menu to search Last 12 months.
  • Click Search.
  • If you are dissatisfied with your results (you may think that you have too many results and could be more specific), consider using ProQuest Smart Search/Suggested subjects to run a new search using subjects related to your current search. From the list of Suggested subjects, select Economic conditions – China.

Note: When you select a suggested subject from ProQuest Smart Search, it removes any of your previous limits (such as the date range we selected earlier for the last 12 months).

  • From the Narrow results by, go to the Date limit and click on the last bar in the chart to view documents published in 2011.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Create alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into ABI/INFORM that meet your search criteria.
  • Enter your email address, choose the email format, and schedule your alert based on when you would like to receive an email of your results and how long you would like the alert to last.
  • Click create alert.

Data & Reports

Use this search form to target your business research to specific companies, industries, and markets.

  • Enter the term microfinance into the Data & Reports search box.
  • From the Data/report types to include section, deselect  All company research to only search Market research data.
  • Next to the number of results, click Search within.

Note: Search within will allow you to look for additional keywords within the current set of results.

  • Enter Brazil into the Search within box to display market research reports that mention Brazil.

Look Up Citation

Use this form to easily and quickly locate a particular document.

  • In the author field, enter the name Britton, Charles.
  • In the publication title field, enter International Journal of Wine Business Research.
  • Click Search.
  • From the results page, notice that the record includes six images.
  • Click on one of the images to be taken to the section of the full text that contains the image.
  • Click on the image within the full text to be taken to the enlarged image.
  • From the top of the enlarged image record page, select the Save as file link to save the full record including full text and images.

Browse

Use this page to easily locate featured reports and other non-periodical content.

  • Under More Featured Content, select SSRN Working Papers.
  • In the Find box, enter “Sovereign Debt” and click Go.
  • Expand the result set by clicking on the + symbol.
  • Locate the document, “The Contractual Approach to Sovereign Debt Restructuring,” and click on the title.
  • From the full record page, click on Link to full text.

Note: This takes you outside of ProQuest into the SSRN website. From the record view in SSRN, use the One-Click Download to open the paper in PDF format.

Publications

Use this page to locate publications covered in ABI/INFORM, search within those publications, and browse the available issues.

You want to view the latest issue of The Economist.

  • From the Publications Search box, enter Economist.
  • From the results page you’ll notice that there are a number of publications covered in ABI/INFORM that contain the word Economist in the publication title.
  • Scroll through the list to locate The Economist.
  • Click on the publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • Then select the most recent year, month, and issue to view all the documents published in that particular issue.