Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Library Science Database: Searchable Fields

Access to publications in library and information science

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the Library Science Database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the Library Science Database, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced or Command Line searches. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Library Science Database offers six Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, subject, company/organization, person, and location. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (i.e., "Look up Authors").

Click the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the "Add to search" button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection. Note that you may select multiple terms and join them with a Boolean operator AND or OR before clicking the "Add to Search" button.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(data mining)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts.

Accession Number

AN

AN(222235113)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.  The Accession Number is also known as the Document ID or Document Number and can be found on the Abstract/Details tab of the article.  It is an easy way to quickly get to a specific results.

Anywhere

N/A

(IP address)

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.  This will search anywhere in the record.  

ProQuest assumes an "and" between words.  To further limit the search, put the terms in quotation marks. Example:  IP address (without quotes) = over 3500 results; "IP address" (with quotes) = under 1350 results.  

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(Internet of Things)

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.  

ProQuest assumes an "and" between words.  To further limit the search, put the terms in quotation marks. Example: Internet of Things (without quotes) = over 1000 results; "Internet of Things" (with quotes) = only around 100 results. 

Author

AU

 

AU(King, David)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Cited Author

CAU

AU(King, David)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.  Searching for David King as author yields results authored BY him (around 200 results).  When searching for this name as a CAU, the results increase to over 400.  NOTE:  This may or may not be the same author as resulted in the AU search.  

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(digital divide)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.  In this example, the results will include citations that include the specific term of digital divide.  This is a way to find how topics are connected.  

It is best to use quotes around a document title that is more than one word.  

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(February 2009)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB("Library Journal")

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.  

It is best to use quotation marks for titles that are not one word titles.  This will ensure the exact title name.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG("American Library Association")

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.  There is a Look Up link available after selecting ORG from the dropdown or insert your own organization name.

It is best to use quotation  marks for organizations that have multiples words in their names.  

Document Text

FT

FT(records management)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(reading)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

International Standard Serials Number

ISSN

 

ISSN(09740643)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.  This number can be found on the Abstract/Details tab of the article.  It is a quick way to refer to a specific document. 

Issue

ISS

ISS(5)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.  When on the Abstract/Details tab of a result, the Issue is hyperlinked for easy access to the entire resource. 

Location

LOC

LOC(Ukrain)

Search for a specific geographic area or location from the indexed fields.  To find locations named in articles, consider a keywords search anywhere or in the DT. 

Person

PER

PER(Bill Gates)

Use to find articles about a person.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(American Libraries)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

References

REF

REF(Babbage, Charles)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(Accounts)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading  academic libraries will find articles with the subject academic, academic libraries, or libraries. To run an exact subject search where only “accounts” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(academic libraries)