Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Literature Online (LION): Browse Video and Audio Collections

A guide to all aspects of Literature Online (LION) including content, searching, and viewing results.

Browse Video and Audio Collections

Locate this collection by clicking on the Texts tab and selecting "Video and Audio" from the Browse list on the right side of the menu. There are three collections to choose from: Poets on Screen, Shakespeare Audio Plays, and Poetry Archive Audio. Click on the collection title to view an alphabetical listing of available video or audio files. See descriptions of and more information about the Poets on Screen, Shakespeare Audio Plays, and Poetry Archive Audio pages located in the Browse menu of this guide.

 

Browse Video and Audio: Poets on Screen

The Poets on Screen link gives you access to the video content included in Literature Online. You can browse a list of poems read by the author or contemporary poets reading classic works. Where available, you can also click the Author Page link next to a poet's name to find out more about the poet.

Viewing the text of a poem

If the full text of the poem is available in Literature Online, you can display it by clicking the view full text of poem link on the Poets on Screen video clip page.

Playing a clip

The video clips are embedded in the page. Click the play button to start the clip. Use the video player controls to pause or re-start the clip and control the volume or view the clip in full screen mode.

From the Texts tab > Browse > "Video and Audio" page, click "Poets on Screen" to view the available files by "Browse by author/reader" or "Browse by poem title."  The listings on both pages are alphabetically arranged. Click a letter at the top of the page to toggle to the listings for that letter.

Image 1: Poets on Screen main page

 

Image 2: Selected work with video file. (Note: The player does not automatically start, you may click through to the author page, and use the "Link to this page" button to create a durable URL for this page.)

 

Browse Video and Audio: Shakespeare Audio Plays

The complete Arkangel Shakespeare contains fully dramatised unabridged recordings of all of Shakespeare’s 38 plays. Each play is recorded by noted actors, many of whom were trained at the Royal Shakespeare Company, such as Simon Russell Beale, Joseph Fiennes, David Tennant, Niamh Cusack and Sir John Gielgud and includes sound effects and music to bring the plays further to life.

Plays are listed alphabetically by title; to jump to a particular play, click the corresponding letter below. Clicking on the title of a play will bring you to the individual audio play’s page from which you will be able to view and select individual scenes to access. Links to the multiple editions of Shakespeare's plays have been included and in order to let you select the edition to read the link to Full Text will open a results page displaying all available editions. Though the audio recordings were not created using any of the editions available in Full Text, the 19th Century Cambridge University Press edition is the closest textually to the modern edition used.

View complete cast and production details for all recordings.

From the Texts tab > Browse > "Video and Audio" page, click "Sheakespeare Audio Plays" to view the available plays.  

Image 1: Shakespeare Audio Plays page

 

Image 2: Selected work with audio file. (Note: The player does not automatically start, you may click through to the author page, access the full text of the work, and use the table of contents on the left side of the page to listen to scenes of your choosing in no certain order.)

 

Browse Video and Audio: Poetry Archive Audio

The Poetry Archive is an independent organization founded by the former British poet laureate, Andrew Motion, who was concerned that high quality audio recordings of contemporary poets reading their own works were not being produced and that consequently an important resource was being lost for posterity. The Poetry Archive was thus established to create recordings of important contemporary poets based on the belief that such readings are a powerful source of insight, understanding and enjoyment. As well as creating brand new recordings, the Archive also gathers together and preserves historic and hard to find recordings of long dead poets. So, The Poetry Archive enables listeners to hear the works of contemporary poets such as Billy Collins, Carol Ann Duffy and Michael Longley alongside historic recordings of Edmund Blunden, E.E. Cummings, Sylvia Plath and many more.

We have added over 920 links to Poetry Archive recordings with links for featured poets appearing on their Author Page as well as under the Video and Audio tab in Quick Search and Texts: All searches. Clips are listed alphabetically, by author, and will open in a new browser tab or window.

From the Texts tab > Browse > "Video and Audio" page, click "Poetry Archive Audio" to view the available plays. Click the title of the work you are interested in hearing to be taken to the PoetryArchive.org page for that work. Press play on the embedded player to start the reading; note that full-text of the work below the player (see Image 2 below). 

Image 1: Poetry Archive Audio page

 

Image 2: Selected work with audio file. (Note: The player does not automatically start, you may click the author's name above the player to access the author's PoetryArchive.org profile page, and full-text is below the player.)