Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Literature Online (LION): My Archive

A guide to all aspects of Literature Online (LION) including content, searching, and viewing results.

My Archive important information

Look at more instructions here below on how to save your existing My Archive holdings to manage the move to the new LION My Research  on ProQuest.

My Archive - how to login

This area of the database has been specifically designed to help you with your research. You could create your own personalized area where you would be able to store selected records and saved searches for future reference. My Archive is user name and password protected, so that only you can access the information stored here, unless you choose to share your log in details.

Items from any of the content within the database are stored as Saved Items.

You can launch the saved searches again at a later date, from Saved Searches.

What is the Log In page?
The Log In page gives you access to My Archive. You are required to enter a user name and password to gain access.

To access My Archive:
Click on the My Archive link in the main navigation.

If you have not already logged in, you will be prompted to do so now.

How do I log in?

  • Type your user name into the corresponding box.
  • Type your password into the corresponding box.
  • Click the Log in button.

When you have logged in, the My Archive home page will be displayed. You can follow the links from here to:

  • View your Saved Items
  • View your Saved Searches
  • Modify your profile
  • Subscribe to the mailing list

What do I do if I've forgotten my password?
If you've forgotten your password AND you provided an e-mail address when you created your profile, enter your user name in the Log In page, and then click the Receive a reminder link on the main My Archive page. If you have forgotten your user name and haven't written it down, you will need to create a new profile.

When should I use the Log out of My Archive link?
Your profile, Saved Items and Saved Searches are user name and password protected. The profile details you supply are unique to you. To ensure that no one else alters your profile or saved items while you are away from your computer, we recommend that you log out from My Archive when you have finished using it:

  • Click the Log out of My Archive link at the top of the page. This will end your My Archive session and return you to the Log in page.

After logging in, click the "View Saved Items" to review records you previously saved, click "View Saved Searches" to access and rerun previously saved searches, click "Modify Profile" to change your details such as email address.

My Archive - prepare to move

As Literature Online moves to the ProQuest platform, if you have a MyArchive account, you will want to review the contents to see if you want to use the saved searches or saved records in the future.  This has not been done as part of the product migration, however there are ways for you to export materials from your MyArchive account for later review and use. 

This page gives you strategies to easily export the materials. 

My archive login

 

 

Click on the link to  My Archive in the tool bar on top of the screen and a log in page will appear.

 

Once you've logged in, you can click to view your saved records and saved searches to see what you might want to keep. 

 

My archive home page

After you have logged in, you'll see links to your list of Saved Citations and Saved Searches.

 

For more information on reviewing these and saving them in the new interface, check out the boxes below. 

Saved Searches

Re-creating your saved searches may take a bit of time.

First, you'll need your MyResearch account on the ProQuest platform.  If you don't already have a MyResearch account, you'll need to set one up.  See the instructions here.

Open up the legacy Literature Online interface (https://literature.proquest.com/) and log into your MyArchive account. 

  • Click on the link to View Saved Searches.
  • On the left tool pane, the saved searches are divided into categories: searches you saved when searching Quick search, and searches you saved when searching the content types (authors, texts, criticism, reference).
  • In this example, there is a saved search in the category Texts: All. Click the link All to see the saved search.
  • Click Modify Search. On the next page, you will see the Texts search form, the search terms you added and the search limits you selected when creating the search.
  • You may also want to click View Note, and check if there are notes you would like to save.

Next, open up a new tab on your browser (or open another browser session) open the new interface (https://search.proquest.com/lion/) and log in to My Research.

Try to replicate your search there (Note:  you may need to use the Advanced search form or toggle back to the legacy interface to double check the search strategy you used there).

When you are happy with the search, save it into your My Research account.

Saved Citations

You may also have saved citations on the legacy Literature Online platform.

After you click on the View Saved Citations link, a list of items you have saved will appear. 

First, select the records that you would like to keep. Then select either email or print.

On the next page you will see all available details for the citations (example below). You can choose to either use email to send the citations, or to print them. If you have added notes to citations, it will only be included if you choose the email option.

Depending on the content type (author, text, criticism, reference), the citation will look different.

Copy and paste author name, title, publication year, ISBN if available, into the appropriate fields on the advanced search form on the new interface on the ProQuest platform, then save the citation on your My Research account. You will need to do this one by one.

If you don't already have a MyResearch account on the ProQuest platform, you'll want to set one up.  See the instructions here.

If you have a longer list of documents, you may want either print  or email the list of documents.  Instructions follow, below.

Use EMAIL to transfer files to your email account. If you have added notes to citations, they will be included. To retrieve these items in the new interface, you'll need to use a combination of document title and date.

Using PRINT, a list of documents is created for you to print.  You could also copy and paste these directly into your word processing software or email.  Copying and pasting the Print View into an email is a good alternative to using the Email option. If you have added notes to citations, they will only be included if you choose the email option, not when printing.