Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Literature Online (LION): Quick Search - All Sources

A guide to all aspects of Literature Online (LION) including content, searching, and viewing results.

Quick Search Results Tips

The results of a Quick Search are displayed on the Quick Search Results page. This page gives you access to all items in Literature Online containing your search terms.

1. Results Summary

The results summary is the first thing which appears at the top of all results pages. It tells you the number of results your search has retrieved and lists your search terms and the fields you entered them into.

2. Save Search

You can store your search in the Saved Searches area of My Archive for use at a later date by clicking the Save search link (shown in the toolbar at the top of the results page). You will be prompted to give your search a name so that you can easily identify it in your list of saved searches.

3. Narrowing results (i.e., filtering) 

All the content types for which results were found are listed in a panel on the left-hand side of the page. The number of results retrieved is displayed next to each one. You can click on a category link to view results for that particular category only.

4. Selecting Results

You can select individual entries on the Results page and collect them together in your Selected Items:

  • Check the checkbox next to an entry to select it or click Select all items on this page to select everything on the page you are viewing. The selected entries will be added to yourSelected Items.

Your selected items will remain selected on all other Results pages for the duration of the current session.

To remove entries from your Selected Items:

  • Uncheck the checkbox next to the entry you want to remove or uncheck the Select all items on this page checkbox to remove all entries on the current page.

You can click the Selected Items link at the top of every page to view your entries at any time during your session.

5. Results Display

Quick Search results are organized by categories according to content type, e.g. poetry, prose, criticism, authors. 

6. View Author Record

Entries in the categories Poetry, Drama and Prose contain a link to the Author Page for the relevant author. Click the icon next to the author's name to see the author's profile. 

7. View Record

To view an item, click on the title of an entry in the Results page. Entries in Literary Works in Journals, Criticism and Reference may be available in several formats, click the appropriate link to view the document in your preferred format.

8. View More Results

The top 5 items (sorted by relevance) are shown for each category. Click the View more results for… link to see all the results for a particular category.

9. Formats

Entries in Literary Works in Journals, Criticism and Reference may be available in several formats, click the appropriate link to view the document in your preferred format. 

Citation - Click the Citation link to view the indexing for that record.

Full-text - Click the Full-text link to view the full-text record. 

The Full text page contains the complete text of the article or reference work subdivision. You can access the Full text page by clicking the full text icons on the Criticism & Reference List of Results, Full record or Table of Contents pages.

The Full text page begins with a brief citation which shows the author, article title or reference work heading, publication title and issue details and pagination details where relevant. Icons linking to the full record and page image (if available) also appear.

The full text of the article or reference work subdivision follows, including any notes and bibliographies where appropriate. If the article has been located by performing a keyword search, occurrences of the keyword are indicated by hit-term highlighting and blue arrows, which jump between hits in the text. Go to the first occurrence of the keyword by clicking the Jump to First Hit in Text >> link immediately beneath the article's brief citation at the top of the page. The arrowheads at the first hit will jump to the second hit, etc.

Figures, tables, photographs, or other graphics present in the original articles have been included in Literature Online. Thumbnails, or smaller images, embedded in the article link to the full size image. When captions are provided, they are also hyperlinked to the full size image.

In the case of Literature Online biographies other author names appear in the narrative as links. Follow a link to go to the Author Page listing resources for the relevant author.

Each KnowledgeNotes™ student guide includes a contents list at the start of the text. You can use the links in the contents list to jump directly to a particular section in the full text.

From the Full Text page you can also:

  • add/remove the current article or reference work to/from your Marked List, using the 'Add to Marked List' checkbox.
  • store the current article or reference work subdivision in theSaved Records area of My Archive and come back to it at a later date by clicking the Save to My Archive link.
  • view the full text of other items in the same journal or reference work by clicking the Table of Contents link.
  • go to a print view page by clicking the Print View link. This will take you to a page where you can print just the Full Text.
  • obtain the durable URL for the current page by clicking on the Durable URL for this text link.
  • export bibliographic details for the current work in either plain text format or a format compatible with a number of citation managers by clicking the Download citation link.

Full-text PDF - Click the Full-text PDF link to launch the PDF viewer and see the scanned page image.

A number of article texts in Literature Online are available as page images in PDF format, which can only be viewed if you have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer.

In this case, the page images open automatically in a separate window with the Adobe Acrobat Reader toolbar across the top allowing you to navigate, print, save, and zoom in and out of the article. If you want to know what function each icon performs, hold your mouse over it and an explanatory tool-tip will appear.

Click the close button in the top corner of the window to return to the main window after viewing a scanned article.

Note that since the documents are scanned images, some of the functions such as text selection cannot be used. This is because the application is unable to read the textual content of the scanned article.

If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer you will see a File Download warning appear on your page. 

10. Early English Books Online Interoperability

If your library provides access to the Early English Books Online database, and has linked it to Literature Online, you will see results for "EEBO." When clicked, the title, Citation, Full-text - Keyed, and Full-text - page images links will  open a new browser window or tab and direct to the appropriate page within the EEBO database. The LION search results page will still be accessible in the original window or tab. 

11. Criticism: MLA International Bibliography and ABELL Interoperability

ABELL records appear preceded by the ABELL icon. MLA International Bibliography records appear preceded by the MLAIB icon.

Quick Search Results Page