Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA): About

A guide to all aspects of Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)

Subject Coverage

  • Information management
  • Information technology
  • Internet technology
  • Knowledge management
  • Librarianship
  • Libraries and archives
  • Library management
  • Library technology
  • Library use and users
  • Online information retrieval

Publication Types

  • Magazines
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals

What is Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)?

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) is an international abstracting and indexing service designed for library professionals and other information specialists.

LISA provides bibliographic information about past and present developments in librarianship, information science, online retrieval, publishing and information technology. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 45 countries and in more than 20 different languages.

LISA is updated monthly with more than 1,000 records added per update.

Selection Policy

LISA has an international perspective, and a diverse audience including researchers, students, library staff, and information professionals. Since its inception in 1969, LISA has been interested in a broad range of library and information science (LIS) theory and practice, now taking in developments facilitated by information and communications technology and LIS-related fields such as archives, records management, publishing, information design and technical writing. Consequently, LISA covers a great variety of publications.

In considering candidate journals at the scholarly end, the editor takes account of a range of standard criteria, such as publishing standards, timeliness, editorial content, peer review, international diversity of authorship and citation data. The editor also needs to have an eye for current trends and growth points within the field, for example, developments in Web-based distance education and electronic government. LISA is also interested in important but more topically-oriented journals and magazines, such as the CILIP Update in the UK or Bulletin des Bibliotheques de France in France, and in smaller, more limited publications which deal with specialist areas of interest to the library community (ex: One-Person Library).

·

More About LISA

Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA) is also part of 

Product Access

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

LISA has an international perspective.

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: