Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA): Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the ABI/INFORM subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

LISA offers five Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject heading, classification and country of publication. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

AB(library automation)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(337749)

Search the unique number AN for articles and documents

All Fields

ALL

ALL(website)

Search in all fields in the citation and abstract.

Author

AU

AU(Corti, Louise)

AU(Goswami, P R)

Use to find documents written by a particular author.  All Authors are indexed as they appear in the journal 

  Author Affiliation

AF

AF(Lyon)

Search by Affiliation

Classification

CC

CC(14.0)

The classification codes and descriptions are broad subject headings that are specific to various databases. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, geographical area, or article type.

LISA has its own classification system relevant to Library Science.

Country of Publication

CP

CP(spain)

This field provides the name of country of the publication

Document feature

DF

 DF(294505)

Only used for few records, but not indexed anymore

Document Title

TI

Title

TI(fear factors)

TI(la Bibliotheque Orientale)

 Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article: the translated English title appears in the title field on the new platform. (search also in Original Title)

Document Type

DTYPE

 

DTYPE( journal article)

Search for a specific document

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9608792614)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(0960-3115)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional

Language of Publication

LA

LA(Italian)

Used to search the Language of Publication

Original Title

OTI

OTI(gestion)

Used to search non-English title: the translated English title appears in the title field on the new platform. The original language title is on the Alternate Title field.  We don’t translate book titles. While we will at times do book reviews that have non-English titles, the actual review content must be in English.  We don’t add a translation of a book review title –  but if the review had a title that is different than the actual book title being reviewed we will translate that.

Publication Title

 

PUB

 

PUB(Bulletin des Bibliotheques de France)

Used to search for a specific publication

Publication Year

PY

 

 PY(2000)

Use to find a specific publication year

Publisher

PB

PB(Springer)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher

Resource Location

RL

RL(firstmonday)

This contains the URL where the document has been posted

Shelfmark

SH

SH(4496.373700)

British Library shelfmark. Very useful if you want to know where to find an item within the British Library

Source Type

STYPE

STYPE(Scholarly Journals)

Used to search for a specific publication type

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(Library Management)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. It will retrieve anything to do with the subject keyword being searched.

Update

UD

UD(2008-11-01)

Used to retrieve all records added during a specific database update. The structure of the field is YYYY-MM-DD