Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA): Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts including content, searching, and viewing results.

Thesaurus

The Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Thesaurus (subjects) is used to index the Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject fields, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in thesearchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced and Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts offers nine Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, companies/organizationsconferencesconference titlescountry of publication, locationperson/people, publication and subject. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

AB(stutter)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Anywhere

N/A

(phonology)

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.

Author

AU

 

AU(Sparks, Richard)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Author affiliation

AF

AF(Johns Hopkins)

Company/organization

ORG

ORG(Department of Education)

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Country of publication

CP

CP(France)

Document Title

TI

TI(Language Teaching at a Distance: An Overview of Research)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Identifier (keywords)

IF

IF(second language writing)

Location

LOC

LOC(China)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Notes

NT

NT(revised by John Kearns)

Searches for keywords in Notes. Notes include Publication or document information.

Person

PER

PER(Alexander the Great)

Use to find articles about a person.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(reading and writing)

Used to search by a specific publication or publications. You can use the index to browse the list of publication included in LLBA.

Publisher

PB

PB(Wiley)

Use to search for the journal publisher.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(cognitive grammar)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “cognitive grammar,” will find articles with the subject cognitive grammar, construction grammar or cognitive style. To run an exact subject search where only “cognitive grammar” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(cognitive grammar)