Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the "Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts" subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The "Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts" database offers four Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject heading and Keywords/identifiers. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

AB(habitat destruction)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(PQ0002672211)

Search the unique number AN for articles and documents.

Anywhere

ALL

ALL(habitat)

Search in all fields in the citation and abstract.

Author

AU

AU(Fisher, Andrew)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. 

Author Affiliation

AF

AF(Naval Research Laboratory)

Use this field to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.

Classification

CC

CC(D 04030: Models, Methods, Remote Sensing)

The classification codes and descriptions are broad subject headings that are specific to various databases. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, geographical area, or article type.

Conference

CF

CF(ecosystems sustainability and usa)

This field provides the name of the conference and where and when it occurred.

Corporate author

CA

CA(Marine Observatory and Japan)

Used to search the Corporate/Institutional author.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1016/j.epsl.2008.09.013)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.

Document Title

TI

TI(water purification)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Editor

ED

ED(Smith, R)

Used to search Scientific coordinator.

Environmental Regime

ER

ER(marine)

Used to search for the Environmental Regime.

Input Center, ASFA

TR

TR(if*)

Search the records produced by an input center : 

Enter the code and * (ie: CS* is used for Proquest) (IF* is used for Ifremer). 

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9608792614)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(0960-3115)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard    Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Keyword/identifiers

IF

IF("sedimentology")

To search the researchers’ keywords, or identifiers, or vernacular terms of species.

Language of Publication

LA

LA(French)

Used to search the Language of Publication AND the Summary Language.

Location

LOC

LOC(Germany)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus or if you type the mnemonic. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

Notes

NT

NT(ntis)

Use to find resource location before February 2011. After, the resource location is in URL.

Alternate Title

OTI

OTI(Quelle maftrise publique des eaux pluviales urbaines en France)

Before, it was called “Original Title” : to search non-English Titles.

“Others numbers”

Called “Identifier/keywords” in the reference

NU

NU(1859)

Used to search the reports (report, number, document number, patent number). Note that all reports don't necessarily have a number.

Publication Date

PD

PD(2011-01-01)

PD(YYYYMMDD) or PD(YYYYMM) or PD(YYYY)

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(ecological modelling)

Used to search for a specific publication.

Publication Year

PY

PY(2000)

Use to find a specific publication year

Publisher

PB

PB(Elsevier Science)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher.

Subfile

SFL

SFL(Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts)

Contains also records being indexed for other databaseses like Oceanic Abstracts, ASFA etc.

Subject Heading (all)

SU

SU(Habitat)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific      subject. It will retrieve anything to do with the subject keyword   being searched. For example, doing a search for the subject heading  of “habitat”, it would find articles if the subject was habitat,  habitat selection, habitat factors or habitat improvement.

Searching the SU field will also include a search in the single fields Keyword/identifier (IF) and Taxonomic term (TXTERM).

Summary Language

SL

SL(French)

Used to search the summary language in a specific language.

Supplemental Data

SD

SD(bibliography)

Before February 2011, this field was called NOTE

Taxonomic Term

TXTERM

TXTERM(Thunnus thynnus)

Search for a field of science that encompasses description, identification, nomenclature, and classification.

Update

UD

UD(2012-11)

Used to retrieve all records added during a specific database update. The structure of the field is YYYY-MM

Volume

VO

VO(219)

Used to search for the volume of a resource.