Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Materials Science Collection: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Materials Science Collection including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Adhesive bonding
  • Alloys
  • Aluminum
  • Biomaterials
  • Brazing and soldering
  • Business and company information
  • Casting and molding
  • Ceramics
  • Chemical and electrochemical properties
  • Chemistry
  • Composites
  • Copper
  • Corrosion
  • Energy and fuel
  • Glass, including metallic glasses
  • Health and safety
  • Heat treatment
  • Intermetallics
  • Materials selection
  • Materials substitution
  • Metallurgy
  • Nonferrous metals
  • Polymers
  • Powder technology
  • Products and processes
  • Recycling
  • Refractories
  • Steels
  • Structures
  • Surface finishing
  • Testing, Quality control
  • Thermal spray
  • Welding
  • Working and forming

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Wire Feeds
  • Newspapers
  • Government & Official Publications
  • Other sources

What is ProQuest Materials Science Collection?

ProQuest Materials Science Collection

 

A specialized materials science research database comprised of two primary elements:

  • Full Text: Scholarly journals, trade journals, periodicals, conference papers, reports and other documents in full text
  • Abstracts: A highly specialised bibliographic database allowing more comprehensive search and wider discovery of relevant papers beyond the available full text

This database provides a unique research solution for everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics and composites.

 

Abstracts in ProQuest Materials Science Collection

 

The available full text is supplemented by a much wider range of abstracts for literature in materials science related disciplines to ensure researchers have the maximum opportunity to discover literature for their search queries.

 

ProQuest editors assign index terms to describe the documents in journals, books, maps and reports.

Beyond the mainstream peer reviewed journals in this field this resource provides abstracts of hard-to-get, low circulation grey literature publications, often with links back to the full text (typically open access repositories). The database also includes good coverage of international content including non English language content.

 

Several topic specific thesauri are maintained and developed by ProQuest editorial teams allowing researchers  to find subject terms to narrow or broaden their search. Subjects are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

 

 

Databases in ProQuest Materials Science Collection

 

  • Aluminum Industry Abstracts
  • Ceramic Abstracts
  • Copper Technical Reference Library
  • Corrosion Abstracts
  • Engineered Materials Abstracts
  • Materials Business File
  • METADEX
  • ProQuest Materials Science Journals

ProQuest Platform Videos

Selection Policy

ProQuest Materials Science Collection strives to meet the current requirements of the materials science research community and to anticipate future needs. Selection of resources is a continuous process affected by the changing curriculum as well as ensuring we are meeting the needs of the researcher.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest full text title list and publication coverage, please visit: