Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Medical Database: About

The Medical Database contains abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE® database, plus over 1,400 publications in full text essential to medical research.

Subject Coverage

  • Anesthesiology
  • Cardiovascular Diseases
  • Communicable Diseases
  • Dentistry
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology
  • Gerontology
  • Immunology
  • Neurology
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Oncology
  • Orthopedics
  • Pediatrics
  • Psychiatry
  • Public Health
  • Radiology
  • Respiratory Diseases
  • Surgery
  • Traumatology
  • Venereology

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Publications
  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Reference / Reports

What is the Medical Database?

The Medical Database contains abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE® database, plus over 1,400 publications in full text essential to medical research.

The collection's international coverage with content dating back to 1980 provides a strong, stable foundation for any library wishing to build and expand its clinical and biomedical journal collection with content that covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others.

More about the Medical Database

Users in academic libraries can find definitive research information in the Medical Database. This resource is built on abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE® database, plus over 1,400 publications in full text essential to medical research.

The collection's international coverage with content dating back to 1980 provides a strong, stable foundation for any library wishing to build and expand its clinical and biomedical journal collection with content that covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. The books, magazines, references/reports, scholarly journals, top journals, and trade publications that comprise the collection are provided by over 240 publishers including Massachusetts Medical Society, Elsevier, Springer, Nature Publishing, and Cambridge University Press. Key titles include The Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine, and Nature, among others.

As content is only valuable if it is discoverable, the collection is presented on the ProQuest platform and its over 350 titles are discoverable through The Summon® Service from ProQuest, OCLC WorldCat, Ex Libris Primo Central, PubMed, and Google Scholar (when enabled). Plus, through the ebooks tab on the ProQuest results page, researchers can cross search their organization's ProQuest ebook holdings (when available) alongside their ProQuest platform database content.

In addition, researchers benefit from robust information management and workflow tools and functionality integrated into the platform, including the ability to cite results in numerous citation styles, save as a PDF or other document formats, save searches, and export documents to reference management tools like RefWorks.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: