Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Military Database: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the Military Database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In Military Database, there are different subject types and in addition to the all-encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Military Database offers seven Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject, company/organization, person, location, and NAICS. For a description of these fields, please see the Fields codes link to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, select Contains or Begins with, click Find, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(military training)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(1774713871)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(“artillery systems”)

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

AU(Foss, Christopher)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Caption

CAP

CAP(black hawk)

Use to search image captions.

Cited Author

CAU

CAU(Ferraro)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(unmanned)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(October 2000)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Reference

REF

REF(Heine and torture)

REF(Heine torture)

Use the reference search field to look for articles which cite a specific article, author or journal. It will search all components of a cited reference (cited author, cited publication, cited title or cited year).

Company/Organization

ORG

ORG(Halliburton)    

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1057/jird.2014.3)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Chart)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, and photographs.

Document Number

AN

AN(1774713871)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some  databases, such as PsycINFO).

Document Text

FT

FT(“no fly zone”)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

TI(trade and  Pakistan)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DTYPE

DTYPE(Article)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, case study, news, and report.

International Standard Book Number

ISBN

ISBN(9780549687191)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

International Standard Serials Number

ISSN

ISSN(00014788)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Location

LOC

LOC(Egypt)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Person

PER

PER(Obama)

Use to find articles about a person.

Product Name

NP

NP("Ford Ranger")

Use to find articles about a specific product.

Publication date

PD

PD(20151020)

Use to find a specific publication date.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(jane’s defence weekly”)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

 Source type

STYPE

STYPE(newspapers)

Use to find a specific source type such as books, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(electronic warfare)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject.

Volume

VO

VO(100)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.