Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Music and Performing Arts Collection: About

The Collection

The products and collections listed below make up the Music & Performing Arts Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.


What is the Music & Performing Arts Collection?

The Music and Performing Arts Collection provides a cost-effective and efficient way for libraries to gain access to specialist databases for scholars and students researching music and the performing arts. Covering disciplines as wide-ranging as Dance, Ballet, Circus Performance, Popular Music, Puppetry, Radio, Stagecraft, Theatre, Classical Music and Opera, the Music and Performing Arts Collection provides a comprehensive range of research material.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is the Music Periodicals Database?

The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP+IIMP Full Text) – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.

What is the Performing Arts Periodicals Database?

Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA + IIPA Full Text) – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.

Content Updates in Support Center

Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:

ProQuest Literature and Arts Databases Content Updates

once in the article, click on   to be emailed every time the article is updated.


  • Classical music and opera
  • Dance
  • Ethnomusicology
  • Film
  • Folk music
  • Instruments
  • Jazz and blues
  • Mime
  • Music business
  • Music education
  • Music therapy
  • Opera
  • Puppetry
  • Radio
  • Rock, soul and hip-hop
  • Sound recording
  • Storytelling
  • Television
  • Theater
  • Video