Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music and Performing Arts Collection: Database Search Tips

Database Specific Limiters and Fields in Advanced Search

Exclude: Reviews

The Exclude: Reviews limit allows you to remove all documents marked as a review - Article Review, Audio Review, Book Review, etc. - from your results without having to select all of them from the Document type limit.

Database Specific Limits and Fields

Broad subject heading, Narrow subject heading, and Person are part of the subject field search. They are defined as types of subjects and can be located by searching the subject field, but also are indexed separately and in addition to the subject as specific subject types. When a subject from a record happens to be a broad subject heading, a narrow subject heading, or a person, you will find a separate indexed subject field for these types. Subjects are also known as descriptors, subject headings, controlled vocabulary and sometimes classification terms. Each of these search options in the Advanced Search page also includes a look up link to the browsable index for this field. Use the look up link next to the search box to browse the subject types and add them to your search.

See the list of the Broad Subject Headings in the box here on the right.

Country of publication is the country where the publication was produced. Use the look up link next the to Country of publication search box to browse the list of countries and add them to your search.

To learn more about the look up feature, please visit the Searchable Fields section of this guide.

The Document type limit is used to refer to the format of the document. This includes journal articles, bibliographies, film reviews, musical notation, and many others. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document types will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document types will then only run your search to include those document types you selected.

The Reference work limit is used to restrict your search to entries from the Naxos Music Library reference works that are integrated with Music Periodicals Database. This includes the Music Glossary, Opera Synopses, Music Fundamental Terms, and Pronunciation Guides. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all reference works will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the reference works will then only run your search to include those reference works you selected.

The Document feature limit can be used when you want to limit your search to items that contain additional graphical images such as charts, tables, photos, or musical scores. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document features will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document features will then only run your search to include those document features you selected.

The Language limit is used to restrict your search to documents published in one or more languages. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all languages will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the languages will then only run your search to include those languages you selected.

Broad Subject Headings

LIst of the Broad Subject Headings and in which if the 2 sections each applies

Broad subject Music/Performing Arts
Arts and Entertainment Industry‎ PerfArts
Blues Music‎ Music
Chamber Music‎ Music
Circus Arts‎ PerfArts
Classical Music (General)‎ Music
Country and Western Music‎ Music
Dance‎ PerfArts
Dance-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Dance-Ballet‎ PerfArts
Dance-Business/Finance‎ PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic‎ PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Asia PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Europe PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-the Americas PerfArts
Dance-Experimental PerfArts
Dance-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Dance-Health/Fitness‎ PerfArts
Dance-International PerfArts
Dance-International-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Dance-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Dance-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Dance-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Dance-International-the Americas PerfArts
Dance-Modern‎ PerfArts
Dance-Music PerfArts
Dance-Productions‎ PerfArts
Dance-Social Dance‎ PerfArts
Dance-Technology‎ PerfArts
Dance-USA‎ PerfArts
Ethnic Music: Africa/Middle East‎ Music
Ethnic Music: Asia‎ Music
Ethnic Music: Australia/New Zealand/Oceania Music
Ethnic Music: Central America/Caribbean‎ Music
Ethnic Music: Europe‎ Music
Ethnic Music: General‎ Music
Ethnic Music: North America (except Mexico)‎ Music
Ethnic Music: South America‎ Music
Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Film‎ PerfArts
Film-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Film-Business/Finance/Sales‎ PerfArts
Film-Experimental PerfArts
Film-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Film-Genres‎ PerfArts
Film-International‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Africa/Middle East‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Film-International-the Americas‎ PerfArts
Film-Music‎ PerfArts
Film-Productions‎ PerfArts
Film-Technology‎ PerfArts
Film-USA‎ PerfArts
Folk Music‎ Music
Jazz‎ Music
Magic and Illusionism‎ PerfArts
Mime PerfArts
Music and Other Disciplines‎ Music
Music and Other Literary/Performing/Visual Arts‎ Music
Music Business‎ Music
Music Education‎ Music
Music History‎ Music
Music in Ritual‎ Music
Music Reference‎ Music
Musical Notation‎ Music
Musical performance Music
Musical Performance‎ Music
Musical Sound Sources‎ Music
Musical Theater‎ Music
Musical Theater-Cabaret‎ Music
Opera‎ Music/PerfArts
Opera-Business/Finance‎ PerfArts
Opera-Contemporary‎ PerfArts
Opera-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Opera-Productions‎ PerfArts
Orchestral Music‎ Music
Other Performing Arts‎ PerfArts
Performance Art‎ PerfArts
Performing Arts and Other Disciplines‎ PerfArts
Performing Arts History‎ PerfArts
Popular Music‎ Music
Popular Music: Latin Music‎ Music
Puppetry‎ PerfArts
Radio‎ PerfArts
Reference Resources PerfArts
Rock Music‎ Music
Solo Instrument Music‎ Music
Sound Recording/Processing/Systems‎ Music
Storytelling PerfArts
Television‎ PerfArts
Television-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Television-Business/Programming‎ PerfArts
Television-International‎ PerfArts
Television-International-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Television-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Television-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Television-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Television-International-the Americas‎ PerfArts
Television-Music PerfArts
Television-Technology‎ PerfArts
Television-USA‎ PerfArts
Theater‎ PerfArts
Theater-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Theater-Business/Finance‎ PerfArts
Theater-Experimental PerfArts
Theater-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Theater-International‎ PerfArts
Theater-International-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Theater-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Theater-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Theater-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Theater-International-the Americas‎ PerfArts
Theater-Productions‎ PerfArts
Theater-Shakespearean Theater‎ PerfArts
Theater-Stagecraft‎ PerfArts
Theater-USA‎ PerfArts
Theory/Analysis/Composition‎ Music
Theory/Analysis/Performance‎ PerfArts
Video‎ PerfArts
Vocal Music‎ Music