Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Materials Science & Engineering Database: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

The Thesauri available for the Materials Science & Engineering Database are:

  • ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering Thesaurus
  • Copper Thesaurus
  • Engineered Materials Thesaurus
  • Life Sciences Thesaurus
  • Metallurgical Thesaurus
  • Pollution Thesaurus
  • ProQuest Thesaurus
  • RAPRA Thesaurus
  • Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary)
  • Technology Terms

Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the Materials Science & Engineering Database, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for Company/Organization, Identifiers (keywords), and Location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Materials Science & Engineering database offers six look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject, company/organization, location and classification. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the look up. Other look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

 

AB(Electrospray droplet impact or EDI)

Publication abstracts are provided for most articles. Search the abstract field specifically to ensure that you get focused results. Search phrases using truncation to capture alternative endings of words; search multi-word phrases with quotation marks to ensure precise results.

Accession Number

AN

AN(1006474368)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.

All Fields (no full text)

ALL

ALL(battery recycling)

Search for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Application data

PA

PA(11/690416)

Search patent application information fields (application country, patent assignee, application date & application number).

Assignee

AP

AP(Xerox)

Search patent assignee/patent inventor.

Author

AU

AU(Daehn, Glenn)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Author affiliation

AF

AF(Ohio State University)

The authors institution (university, company, organization).

Caption

CAP

CAP(annual corrosion rate)

Explanatory text about published images.

Classification

CC

CC(70: Power Systems (EA))
CC(crystal properties)


Use Classification Codes when searching materials science topics. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type.

Company/Organization

ORG

CO(Boeing)

Search for articles about a company or organization.

Corporate author

CA

CA(Dupont)

Search for corporate/institutional name, country, city.

Document Text

FT

FT(“7075 aluminum alloy”)

Search for keywords in the body of the article. Use quotation marks around multi-word phrases to ensure the most accurate results.

Document Title

TI

TI(industrial waste)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Editor

ED

ED(WCA)

Either a book general author, book editor name, journal editor name.

Figure/Table type

FIGT

 

FIGT(illustration)  

Graph, illustration, photograph, map.

Identifier/Keyword

IF

IF(Austenitic stainless steels)

Use to search combination of Material and Material Classification fields.

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9780549101482)

 

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(1229-9138)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Location

LOC

LOC(China)

Search for articles about a specific geographic area or location.

Material

ML

ML(90Cu-10Zn)

The field that contains either specific manufacturers' designations or trade names of alloys or alloy compositions discussed in the document. All entries in this field are assigned materials classifications (MC).

Material classification

MC

MC(bronzes)
MC ("CUBRO")

Use to search for alloys by name or code.

Notes

NT

NT(erratum)

Use to search the Supplemental data field, for example an erratum or special issue.

Original title

OTI

 

OTI(die thermische Ermüdung) 

This is where a foreign-language title might be displayed, if the article included both an English and a foreign-language title.

Other numbers

NU

NU(52)

This is a field used to indicate numbers such as a catalog number of a monograph.

Patent information

PAT

PAT(H001718)

Searches patent application number, country, assignee, application date, publication date, publication number, and priority data.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(Journal of Materials Research)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

Publisher

PB

PB(Elsevier)

Report number

RP

RP(2002-01-1000)

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(semiconductors)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject headings “semiconductors” will find articles with the subject semiconductors, amorphous semiconductors, or semiconductors devices. To run an exact subject search where only “semiconductors” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(semiconductors)

Summary language

SL

SL(English)

Used to search the summary language in a specific language.

Tags

TAG

TAG(polypropylene)

Use to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.