Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music Periodicals Database: Database Search Tips

leading source on all aspects of music

Search Tips

Exclude: Reviews

The Exclude: Reviews limit allows you to remove all documents marked as a review - Article Review, Audio Review, Book Review, etc. - from your results without having to select all of them from the Document type limit.

Database Specific Limits and Fields

Broad subject heading, Narrow subject heading, and Person are part of the subject field search. They are defined as types of subjects and can be located by searching the subject field, but also are indexed separately and in addition to the subject as specific subject types. When a subject from a record happens to be a broad subject heading, a narrow subject heading, or a person, you will find a separate indexed subject field for these types. Subjects are also known as descriptors, subject headings, controlled vocabulary and sometimes classification terms. Each of these search options in the Advanced Search page also includes a look up link to the browseable index for this field. Use the look up link next to the search box to browse the subject types and add them to your search.

Country of publication is the country where the publication was produced. Use the look up link next the to Country of publication search box to browse the list of countries and add them to your search.

To learn more about the look up feature, please visit the Searchable Fields section of this guide.

The Document type limit is used to refer to the format of the document. This includes journal articles, bibliographies, film reviews, musical notation, and many others. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document types will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document types will then only run your search to include those document types you selected.

The Reference work limit is used to restrict your search to entries from the Naxos Music Library reference works that are integrated with the Music Periodicals Database. This includes the Music Glossary, Opera Synopses, Music Fundamental Terms, and Pronunciation Guides. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all reference works will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the reference works will then only run your search to include those reference works you selected.

The Document feature limit can be used when you want to limit your search to items that contain additional graphical images such as charts, tables, photos, or musical scores. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document features will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document features will then only run your search to include those document features you selected.

The Language limit is used to restrict your search to documents published in one or more languages. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all languages will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the languages will then only run your search to include those languages you selected.

Browse Tips

Use the Browse to easily locate the Naxos Music Library reference material that is integrated with the Music Periodicals Database.

Glossary

An A-Z glossary of musical terms.

Opera Synopses

Browse synopses of over 700 operas.

Music Fundamental Terms

An A-Z of music fundamental terms.

Pronunciation Guides

Pronunciation guides for composer and artist names.

Naxos List of Composers

An A-Z list of composers with links to view composer profiles in Naxos Music Library.

 

All Naxos Music Library reference works provide a browsable alphabet, allowing you to jump quickly to specific names or terms.