Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Nursing & Allied Health Database: Sample Searches

A guide to all aspects of Nursing & Allied Health, providing users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more

Search Nursing & Allied Health Database

Links to Nursing & Allied Health Database

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to Nursing & Allied Health Database. If you are unable to access your account, please contact your local librarian.

Sample Searches

The widget will only work if you are already authenticated to your organization’s Nursing & Allied Health Database account. If it does not work, please login through your organization’s library to access Nursing & Allied Health Database directly. If you have questions about accessing your ProQuest databases, please contact your local librarian.

Basic Search

  1. You are looking for information related to stress about nursing in World War II.
  • Type nurs* AND “world war II” into the Basic Search box or use the widget on the left.  

The asterisk (*) is the truncation character and is used to find word variations such as nurse or nursing.

Put quotation marks around phrases like “world war II” in order to search for these words as exact phrases.

  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature or the Proximity operator.
  • From the Narrow results by and the Source Type limit, select to view Dissertations & Theses.
  • Also from the Narrow results by and the Subject limit, select to view More options and select the Include column of the stress Subject. 
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.

NOTE: NEAR/n is the proximity search operator, which looks for documents that contain two search terms, in any order, within a specified number of words apart. Replace 'n' with a number. In the example, 6 means near 6 words.

Try running your search again replacing using the proximity operator, like: nurs* NEAR/6 “world war II”


Advanced Search

  • Click the Advanced tab to access this area.
  • Type "palliative care" in the first search box and select Subject heading (all) from the drop-down menu.

NOTE: Alternatively, click the Look up to search for the Subject term “palliative care”.

  • In the second row, type gerontolog* in the first box and geriatric* in the second search box; select Publication Title from the drop-down menu.
  • Click Search

 2.    You want to set up a monthly alert to receive links to peer-reviewed journal articles about vitiligo treatment when they are added to Nursing & Allied Health Database.

  • Click the Advanced tab to access this area.
  • Type vitiligo AND treatment in the first search box and select Subject heading (all) from the drop-down menu.
  • Under the Search options, tick the box for peer-reviewed.
  • Click Search.
  • Click Save search/alert on the results page.
  • Complete alert options.

NOTE: Alternatively, on the search results page, click Create RSS feed if you prefer the alert be added to your RSS reader.

 

 3.    You want to find all articles related to nutrition on low weight birth.

  • Click the Advanced tab to access this area.
  • Select MeSH subject – MeSH from the drop-down menu and click on Look up MeSH subjects
  • Search for low birth weight and select Infant, Extremely Low Birth Weight and click Add to search
  • In the second row, type nutrition in the first box and feed* in the second search box; select Anywhere except full text - ALL from the drop-down menu.
  • Click Search

NOTE: By selecting All fields (no full text) - ALL, you are narrowing your search to all record data, but not the full text.


Browse

1.    You want to see a pre-selected set of articles for Practical Nurses about developmental disorders in the field of pediatrics for an assignment.

  • Click the Browse tab to access this area.
  • Select Practical Nursing under the Study Paths section.
  • Type developmental disorders in the Find Topics box (or expand Tree Topics to discover)
  • Click on View Documents.

 

  • Click the Browse tab to access this area.
  • Select Video Training Programs in the Competency and Training Resources section.
  • Expand Aging: The natural Process > Emotions

NOTE: You can also download the video in different formats using the appropriate Format links. The following formats are available:

.mov - suitable for use with Apple’s QuickTime media player, RealPlayer or Windows Media Player 7 and above

.mp4 - suitable for use with Apple’s QuickTime media player or RealPlayer


Publications:

  • Click the Publications tab to access this area.
  • Type nursing and select “In title” in the drop-down menu
  • From the Narrow Publications list, select to view Books.

NOTE: Notice all books are split into chapters for an easier use for research.