Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

NHS ProQuest: ProQuest Health and Medical Content Overview

ProQuest Hospital Collection

The ProQuest Hospital Collect ion serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of healthcare journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Collectively, this resource provides subscribing institutions with the widest breadth of aggregated health and medical content in the world.  The collection includes:

  • ProQuest’s Health & Medical Complete, which offers in-depth coverage from leading biomedical publications.
  • ProQuest’s Nursing & Allied Health Source which provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more 
  • ProQuest’s Health Management Source, which offers relevant resources for anyone interested in the business of running a health organization  
  • ProQuest’s Psychology Journals, which features key information from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications
  • ProQuest’s Consumer Health Database, which includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from to eye care and dentistry 
  • MEDLINE®, a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The database contains millions of citations derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and is indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary.  

British Nursing Index

The British Nursing Index is bibliographic resource supporting the practice, education, and research of nurses, midwives, and healthcare professionals in the U.K. and the greater nursing community.  This resource includes essential coverage from U.K. and other English language nursing and midwifery publications. High impact international titles in these areas are also included, along with selective citations from relevant medical, allied health, and management journals.

Collection Highlights

  • Ongoing full-text access to premier journals
    • The collection offers ongoing full-text access to leading scholarly publications including The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and thousands of others, and is easily linked to other required content. Compared to other providers, ProQuest has shorter embargoes and more full-text content. 
  • Comprehensive medical literature reviews
    • The collection supports end user need for diverse content with more than 32,000 full-text dissertations unique to ProQuest covering many areas including nursing, psychology, and health management.
    • ProQuest amasses summary journals, conference proceedings, industry and healthcare reports, trade journals, books, and more into a single cross-searchable collection. These primary, secondary, and tertiary content sources cover the spectrum of medicine and give all users from undergraduates and faculty to clinicians and practitioners easy access to relevant content. 
  • Best practice/epidemiology
    • Access to evidence-based resources is as important as ever, which is why ProQuest includes thousands of evidence based articles (systematic reviews and meta-analysis) and more than 74,000 clinical trial records as well as expert opinions and findings from cohort and experimental studies. 

 

American Psychological Association (APA) Databases

Access to PsycINFO® and PsycARTICLES® is also included in your subscription. These resources are offered on the ProQuest platform, pairing their authoritative content with powerful discovery, linking, and retrieval tools that are useful in exposing related content, dynamically linking to full-text documents, and much more.

Each APA database is extremely powerful on its own, but in combination and on the ProQuest platform, they create an essential core of behavioral science literature with far-reaching interdisciplinary applications, establishing extraordinary value for any institutional collection.

  • PsycINFO® is a channel into the full breadth of research literature in the behavioral and social sciences. Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines from the historical to the cutting edge.
  • PsycARTICLES® is a full-text database of peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals. With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, this esteemed collection provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field and is an indispensable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and educators.