Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive: About

Subject Coverage

  • Current Events
  • Democracy
  • Diplomacy/Peacemaking
  • Ethics
  • Global Economic Affairs
  • History
  • Human Rights
  • International Development
  • International Relations
  • Military Operations
  • Politics
  • Public Policy
  • Sustainability

What is News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive?

The News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive offers unprecedented digital access to the archives of leading consumer magazines of the 20th century relating to political history, current events, public policy, international relations, and more. It comprises approximately 700,000 full color page images and each article is individually indexed with fully searchable text. This collection provides unique primary source insights into 20th-century political history, delivering valuable material for researchers in fields ranging from modern history and politics, through to economics, law and many more.

Each title has a deep backfile - the earliest content dates from 1918 - and issues, from the first through to recent times, are scanned from cover to cover in full color.* Central to this collection is the archive of Newsweek, one of the 20th century’s most prominent, highest circulating general interest magazines.

In combination these publications provide access to a rich seam of contemporary responses to the key events, trends, and preoccupations of the period, from a range of perspectives. In addition to the representation of various political and religious orientations, the collection is international in scope. Alongside leading US publications such as Newsweek and In These Times are magazines that are published outside of North America and/or are engaged with international affairs, such as Europe, New Internationalist, and NATO Review.

* Our policy is to include every issue in full, from the first to the end of the 2015 publication year. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there small gaps (issues or pages) for some publications. Page-level completeness for this collection is approximately 99.65%

Title list

 

Title

Publisher

Frequency

Coverage

Americas

Organization of American States, Sales and Promotion Division

Bimonthly

1949 to 2012

Church & State

Americans United for Separation of Church and State

Monthly

1948 to 2015

Common Cause Magazine

Common Cause

Quarterly

1980 to 1996

Dollars & Sense

Economic Affairs Bureau

Bimonthly

1977 to 2015

Europe

Delegation of the Commission of the European Communities

Monthly

1954 to 2002

Fellowship

Fellowship of Reconciliation NY

Quarterly

1935 to 2016

In These Times

Institute for Public Affairs, Inc.

Monthly

1976 to 2015

NATO Review

North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Information and Press Service

Quarterly

1953 to 2001

New Internationalist

New Internationalist

Monthly

1971 to 2013

Newsweek

IBT Media, Inc.

Weekly

1933 to 2012 [ceased title]

State Legislatures

National Conference of State Legislatures

Monthly

1975 to 2015

The UNESCO Courier

UNESCO Press, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Semiannual

1948 to 2001 [ceased title]

UN Chronicle

United Nations

Quarterly

1964 to 2015

Whole Earth

New Whole Earth, LLC

Quarterly

1974 to 2002 [ceased title]

World Tomorrow

Fellowship of Reconciliation NY

Monthly

1918 to 1934 [ceased title]

ProQuest Platform Videos

Covers