Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Performing Arts Periodicals Database: About

dynamic resource for the performing arts

The Collection

Performing Arts Periodicals Database can be cross-searched along with the Music Periodicals Database in the encompassing Music & Performing Arts Collection. Consult the Music & Performing Arts Collection LibGuide for more information.

Publication Types & Coverage

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Magazines
  • Trade Journals
  • Newspapers
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings

* View the Latest Title list and Publication coverage.

Content Updates in Support Center

Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:

ProQuest Literature and Arts Databases Content Updates

once in the article, click on   to be emailed every time the article is updated.

What is the Performing Arts Periodicals Database?

Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA + IIPA Full Text) – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.

More about the Performing Arts Periodicals Database

Including both abstract/indexed and full text publications, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database (PAP - formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community.

The database offers access to over 390 performing arts periodicals, of which 160 are full text. Coverage is mostly from 1998 onward, but also retrospective access us provided to many selected titles – some all the way back to their inception, including Journal of Popular Film & Television and Performing Arts Resources.

The database currently includes over 870,000 records, the majority of which index articles from 1998 onwards. Around 160,000 records in PAP are from the backfile (up to 1997) and much of this coverage, for over 10 publications, commences at the first issue of the journal run, and goes as back as 1864.

PAP provides many important benefits to performing arts librarians, bibliographers, researchers, teachers, and students:

  • Currency: PAP has the most current records; typically, over 40,000 records are added yearly, with monthly updates.
  • Abstracts: Every citation from 1998 forward contains an abstract.
  • Extensive backfile: Only PAP has such an extensive backfile - from as early as 1864 for indexed titles - available electronically.
  • Multidisciplinary coverage: Including film, drama, dance, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, and more.
  • Delivers complete information from popular and scholarly performing arts journals, such as American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Opera News, Sight & Sound, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, and more

Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers the broadest range of journals – both scholarly and popular – and combines the highest-quality indexing with a superior search engine and interface. This broad journal coverage enables both graduate and undergraduate level research, as well as query handling in the public library setting.

Subject Coverage

  • Dance
  • Theater
  • Film
  • Mime
  • Opera
  • Puppetry
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Storytelling
  • Video
  • Performance Art