Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Performing Arts Periodicals Database: Sample Searches

Links to Performing Arts Periodicals Database

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to the Performing Arts Periodicals Database. If you are unable to access your account, please contact your local librarian.

Sample Searches

Basic Search      

You are looking for reviews of productions of Shakespeare's "Romeo and Juliet".

  • Type shakespeare AND "romeo and juliet" into the Basic Search box.
  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature.
  • From the Narrow results by, go to the Document type limit and click the + to expand the list. Select "Theatre review".
  • To begin reviewing your results, hover over the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the bibliographic record or the Full Text link to view the full record.

Advanced Search

 You are looking for articles on clowning techniques.

  • From the Advanced Search page and the first pull-down menu in the first search row, select Broad subject heading.
  • Use the Look up Broad subjects link that appears just below the selected field to search for the available and relevant subject terms.
  • Type circus and select the option "Contains".
  • Select Circus arts from the list of broad subject terms and click Add to search.
  • From the second pull-down menu, select Narrow subject heading.
  • Use the Look up Narrow subjects link that appears; type clown and select the option "Contains".
  • Select clowns from the list of narrow subject terms and click Add to search.
  • In the third search row, type techniques.
  • Click Search.
  • To begin reviewing your results, hover over the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the bibliographic record or the Full Text link to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Create alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into the Performing Arts Database that meet your search criteria.
  • Enter your email address, choose the email format, and schedule your alert based on when you would like to receive an email of your results and how long you would like the alert to last.
  • Click create alert.

Publications

Use this page to locate publications covered in the Performing Arts Periodicals Database, search within those publications, and browse the available issues.

You want to browse the latest issue of Cineaste.

  • Type Cineaste in the search box and select to search In title from the pull-down menu.
  • Click on the publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • Use the Search within publication search box to search for articles in the journal or the Browse specific issues feature to look through the contents of an issue.
  • To browse the latest issue, select the most recent year to see the published issues and then choose the most recent issue.
  • Hover over the preview for additional record details or select the Abstract/Details link, or Full Text to begin reviewing the article.