Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Philosopher's Index: About

A guide to all aspects of Philosopher's Index including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Aesthetics
  • Axiology
  • Epistemology
  • Ethics
  • Logic
  • Metaphilosophy
  • Metaphysics
  • Philosophical Anthropology
  • Philosophy of Education
  • Philosophy of History
  • Philosophy of Language
  • Philosophy of Religion
  • Philosophy of Science
  • Political Philosophy
  • Social Philosophy

Publication Types

  • Book Review
  • Contribution
  • Dissertation
  • Journal article
  • Monograph

What is Philosopher's Index?

The Philosophers Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It is created by philosophers for philosophers. The Philosopher's Index features: the inclusion of documents from philosophy and interdisciplinary publications, extensive indexing, and author-written abstracts. Philosophers prescreen potential source documents for relevance to the field of philosophy; this enables the inclusion of articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy. The indexing includes the assignment of subject headings that encompass proper names and subject terms using a standardized thesaurus. The indexing improves the quality of search results and the use of the standardized thesaurus provides consistency across records from the various publications. The abstracts help the user more quickly ascertain the relevance of the documents.

The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Selection Policy

The Philosophers Index covers scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. It ensures full coverage of philosophy research wherever it is produced, in particular strong coverage from continental Europe.Articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy are included.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: