Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Periodicals Index Online (PIO): Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of Periodicals Index Online including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Periodicals Index Online offers four Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a publication subject name. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: Author, Publication Title, Publication subject and Country of publication. For a description of these fields, please see the Searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link). Several of the searchable fields from the Look Up Citation search form also offer Look up links.

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the Advanced Search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the Advanced Search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(renaissance)

Where available, we use abstracts included on the original journal table of contents, without modification.

Anywhere

ALL

ALL(modern dance)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text. The following fields are searched: Author Name, Abstract, Title, Publication Title, ISSN, Publication subject, Country of Publication and Publisher.

Author

AU

 

AU(Kinsley, Michael)

Use to find documents written by a particular author.

Country of publication

CP

CP(France)

Search for documents from journals published in a particular country.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(multiculturalism)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the document.

Document Type

DType

DTYPE(review)

DTYPE(article)

Use this to find specific document types such as articles, back matter, front matter and reviews.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(00036846)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(3)

Use to search the issue number of a publication.

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Pages

PG

PG(232)

Use this field to search for a specific page an article was published.

Publication date

PD

PD(19951220)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

 (YYYYMMDD) = (19951220)

 (YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (1989 and Nov) or (Nov 1989)

 (YYYY) = 1989

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date rang

(<1800) or (>1995) or (1939-1945)

Publication frequency

FQ

FQ(monthly)

Use to search for the particular frequency of the publication.

Publication section

SEC

SEC(reviews)

Search for documents in a specific section of a publication.

Publication subject

JSU

JSU(archaeology)

Use the Publication subject search field to look for documents about a specific subject.  

Publication subject terms conform a list of 37 subject areas. You can see them all in the Look up or in the “About” page.

See the Identifiers/keywords entry for additional information about article indexing.

Publication title

PUB

PUB(The Spectator)

Search for a specific publication.

Publication title (includes title history)

PUBALL

PUBALL(“Quarterly Review of the Rural Economy”)

Searches across all title variants within a journal run. In this case, a search for Quarterly Review of the Rural Economy will also retrieve results from the former title, Quarterly Review of Agricultural Economics, and vice versa. If you use the Publication title field instead (PUB) it will only find articles for that particular journal run.

Publication year

YR

YR(1945)

Use to find a specific publication year.

Publisher

PB

PB(Mulino)

Use to search for the journal publisher.

Source type

SType

STYPE(scholarly)

Use to find a specific source type such as scholarly journals or magazines.

Volume

VO

VO(24)

Use to search for the volume of a resource. Use in conjunction with the Issue field to create a more precise search query.