Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Periodicals Index Online (PIO): Document View

A guide to all aspects of Periodicals Index Online including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform

Document View tips

1. Document Formats

Abstract/Details: displays the citation, full abstract and indexing details. Any linking tools that the library administrator has enabled to help locate the full text will be available here. The Abstract provides a summary of the document and often includes a translate option. ProQuest will translate the abstract from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an "on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

If there are duplicate items for the record you are viewing, you will see a link at the top to the Abstract/Details view that states, Show duplicate items from other databases. This can occur when you are cross-searching multiple ProQuest databases together. Click on this link to show the duplicate records and to see which databases they are found in. 

Full text: displays the abstract and HTML full text. There will likely also be an option to translate the full text. ProQuest will translate the full text from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an “on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation. Your ProQuest administrator may have also turned on the new text-to-speech reader from ReadSpeaker. When you click Listen, ReadSpeaker will read the text aloud in English while also simultaneously highlighting the words in the text. 

Full text - PDF: displays the PDF version of the document within the ProQuest platform document view page. You can additionally Download the PDF from this view to pull the PDF out of ProQuest and into your local PDF reader or directly to your device. 

Important Note: Please consider that not all records have full text available and you may only have a link to view the Abstract/Details. If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links on the Abstract/Details tab.

2. References

When provided by the author and publisher References contain the citations of resources used to help contribute thoughts and ideas discussed within the current document. If one of the References is available to your library through another ProQuest database, you will be able to click on the reference to view the full record.

Cited by displays a list of other ProQuest documents that include the current document in their list of References.

Documents with shared references provides a list of the ProQuest documents that have References in common with the current document.

3. Download PDF, Cite, Email, Print, Save

When viewing a full record, use one of the tools to work with the item.

The Download to PDF button appears when there is PDF full text available for the document. Clicking on this will download the PDF to your machine. If there is full text for a document but it is not available in PDF, this button will instead say Save as PDF. This will take the contents of the full text and save it in a PDF file for ease of use and storage. 

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Your library administrator can customize the list of styles that display in the drop-down menu through the ProQuest Administrator Module. You can override those settings within your My Research account. Visit the My Research tab in this guide to learn how you can create an account. 

Email or Print the record.

Add to selected items lets you select the record and create a list of items to work with later on.

Save the record to a bibliographic manager like RefWorks or New RefWorks (account required), EasyBib, to Google Classroom, Google Drive (account required, this option can be disabled in the administrative module) or to the RIS file format. Exporting moves a copy of the record out of ProQuest and into one of the bibliographic managers or supported file formats. You can also save records to HTML, PDF, RIS, RTF, Text Only, or XLS. If there is full text for document, but it is not available in PDF format, you will see a  button for Save as PDF file for ease of use and storage. 

In addition to using these features from the Document view page, they can also be used from the Results pageSelected items list and through the Folder icon. 

4. Details

When you are in the Abstract/Details tab of a document, the Details section shows all available bibliographic information for the item. A permanent link to the item is also included for you to bookmark or include in your own documents.

Clicking a linked subject term in the Details or Abstract/Details view will retrieve other items indexed under that subject term and take you to a new Search Results page. You can also find other items by the same author, or in the same publication, by clicking linked author/publication names, or you can retrieve other items in a particular volume/issue by clicking a linked volume/issue number.

Please see the Searchable Fields page of this guide for a list of common ProQuest fields. See the database LibGuide page for specific database search fields.

5. Related items 

The Related items menu displays five suggested items that are related to the current record. ProQuest analyzes the keywords in the full record and then suggests similar items that include similar key words, phrases, or concepts as the displayed document. 

Click on a title to display the document. Click the See more related items link to view more documents. 

6. Search with indexing terms

Search with indexing terms displays the indexed subject terms for the record and allows you to choose relevant subjects. When you click Search, ProQuest looks for documents in your currently selected databases that are indexed using ALL of your selected terms. It is possible to come across records that do not include subject terms and therefore this feature may not be available

7. Ebook Central e-books

If your institution has access to Ebook Central, you will presented with ebooks relevant to the subject of the reference you are currently viewing which are available for you to read. 

8. Altmetric

Altmetrics are metrics and qualitative data that are complementary to traditional, citation-based metrics. They can include (but are not limited to) peer reviews on Faculty of 1000, citations on Wikipedia and in public policy documents, discussions on research blogs, mainstream media coverage and mentions on social networks such as Twitter. Visit this page to learn more: https://www.altmetric.com/about-altmetrics/what-are-altmetrics/

The higher the score, the more popular an article seems to be. Clicking on the Altmetric donut will take you to a page where you can see more details about where the article has been mentioned. 

Document view