Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Politics Collection: About

This is an A&I and full-text Collection comprising of Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS, IBSS and PQ Political Science. In addition to comprehensive index coverage and full-text journals, it contains over 2000 recent full-text dissertations and


The products and collections listed below make up the Politics Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.


  • Comparative politics
  • Electoral systems
  • Environmental and energy policy
  • Government International relations
  • Political behavior
  • Political economy
  • Political science
  • Public policy

What is the Politics Collection?

The Politics Collection provides access to renowned databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is the PAIS Index?

The PAIS Index covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

What is Policy File Index?

Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy.

What is the Political Science Database?

The Political Science Database provides users access to over 450 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Political Science Database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.

What is Worldwide Political Science Abstracts ?

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

ProQuest Platform Videos