Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Polymer Library: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

The RAPRA Thesaurus is used to index the Polymer Library database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. The display will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word using the Find button. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Polymer Library offers several Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject, and company/organization. For a description of these fields, please see the Fields codes link to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, select Contains or Begins with, click Find, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

AB(thermal insulation)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(1769623139)

Searches the unique database ID for articles and documents.

All

ALL

ALL(epdm sugar cane)

Searches anywhere but full text.

Author

AU

AU(“miller s”)

Used to find documents written by a particular author. 

Author Affiliation

AF

AF(Duke)

Used to search author affiliation.

Company/Organization

ORG

ORG(Schuco International)

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Corporate Author

CA

CA(3M) and adhesive

Used to search corporate author.

Document Title

TI

TI(new bioplastic applications in windows)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of  the article.

Document Type

DTYPE

DTYPE(journal article)

Used to find specific document types such as journal article, conference paper or report.

International Standard Book Number

ISBN

ISBN(9781420067095)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where   available.

International Standard Serials Number

ISSN

ISSN(18625258)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available.

Keywords/identifiers

IF

 

IF(627)

Terms and codes are searchable.

Language

LA

LA(English)

Searches for a specific language.

Material

ML

ML(rubber)

Terms and codes are searchable.

Non-Polymer Material

NM

NM(sodium cellulose)

Used to find articles about non-polymer material.

Patent Country

PC

PC(US)

Searches patent country.

Patent Number

PN

PN(US 6984428)

Searches patent number.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(high performance plastics)

Used to search by a specific publication or publications.

Publication Year

YR

YR(2013)

Used to search by a specific publication year.

Source Type

STYPE

STYPE(scholarly journals)

Used to find specific source types such as scholarly journals, government & official publications or reports.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(molecular)

Use the subject search field to look for documents about a specific subject. It will retrieve anything to do with the subject keyword being searched. For example, doing a search for the subject heading of “molecular” would find articles if the subject was molecular mass, molecular weight, or molecular structure.