Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Health & Medical Complete including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

576 subjects are covered in ProQuest Health & Medical Complete and include:

  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Pharmacology
  • Microbiology
  • Immunology
  • Parasitology
  • Pathology
  • Health facilities & adminstration
  • Occupational health & safety
  • Communicable diseases
  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Musculoskeletal diseases
  • Respiratory diseases
  • Hemic diseases
  • Lymphatic diseases
  • Digestive diseases
  • Urogenital diseases
  • Endocrine diseases
  • Nervous system
  • Drug abuse & alcoholism
  • Psychiatry
  • Surgery
  • Gynecology
  • Obstetrics
  • Dermatology
  • Pediatrics
  • Geriatrics
  • Dentistry
  • Otolaryngology
  • Opthamology
  • Dermatology
  • Venereology
  • Radiology & nuclear medicine

For a full list, please see the publication coverage box to the right of this page.

Publication Types

  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Wire Feeds

What is ProQuest Health & Medical Complete?

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health & Medical Complete provides in-depth international coverage from over 2,400 publications with over 2100 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing. Over 500 publishers contribute to ProQuest Health & Medical Complete including Elsevier, Massachusetts Medical Society, Springer, Nature Publishing and Cambridge University Press.  Literature coverage of titles date back to 1969.

The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Titles include:


  • The Lancet
  • The New England Journal of Medicine
  • Journal of the National Cancer Institute
  • Journal of Clinical Investigation
  • American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine
  • The American Journal of Psychiatry
  • Journal of American Medical Association
  • Diabetes
  • Canadian Medical Association. Journal; CMAJ
  • Rheumatology
  • American Journal of Public Health


ProQuest Health & Medical Complete is for:

  • Academic libraries – Resources for both the basic need and high-end requirements of medical, nursing, dental, pharmacy and other allied health students and biomedical researchers
  • Consortia – Resources for basic and high-end requirements of students and researchers within institutions in a consortium
  • Hospital libraries Resources for healthcare professionals working in a hospital setting
  • Public libraries – General interest and reference materials including magazines and other non periodical content
  • Special libraries – Daily updates of content and wirefeeds that bring timely news from around the world

Please note that ProQuest Health & Medical Complete is also a component of ProQuest Central. Subscribers of ProQuest Central have access to 27 ProQuest databases including ProQuest Health & Medical Complete. It is also one of the five components of the ProQuest Hospital Collection.







Selection Policy

In order to provide coverage across 576 subjects, the selection policy for ProQuest Health & Medical Complete is very broad. The first priority of ProQuest Health & Medical Complete is to provide academic journals in full text for optimal research and teaching utility. Publications that cover the main subjects within the various disciplines of health and medicine are selected on a regular, ongoing basis. Additional non-periodical content for general interest are also important in ProQuest Health & Medical Complete and are selected, upon review. The majority of content is selected in the English language. However, academic journals in other languages are also considered and selected to provide well-rounded coverage of the most studied and popular subjects. Publications from a wide range of countries are desired and included.


Criteria used in selection of materials for inclusion are:


1.     Reputation of the journal and/or publisher

2.     Coverage of key subject areas

3.     Coverage of new or emerging subject areas

4.     Academic merit of the publication (impact factors or favorable reviews)

5.     Popularity of the title (consumer or general interest periodicals)

6.     Availability of full text rights

7.     Demand for the title

8.     Fills a need for a language or country of publication

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: