Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Research Library: Basic Search

A guide to all aspects of Research Library including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Basic Search Tips

Search across all ProQuest platform databases with the Basic Search. Boolean, proximity, and field codes are supported. The default is to search for ALL terms entered. Separate terms with OR to find any of the terms.  To search for an exact phrase, use "quotation marks" around your search.

When running a search, the search default is set to Anywhere. Anywhere searches the full bibliographic record (all indexed fields) including the ProQuest full text. Your organization's ProQuest administrator may have chosen to change the default to search Anywhere except full text (ALL) instead. Anywhere except full text (ALL) searches the full bibliographic record, but does NOT include a search of the ProQuest full text. If this were the case, you will see a note above the search box stating this: You are searching all fields except full text.

Full text, Peer reviewed, and Scholarly journals are limits that may appear in the Basic Search. The visibility of these limits is determined by your organization's ProQuest Administrator Module settings. Whether or not any of these are checked by default is also determined by your organization's ProQuest Administrator Module settings.

Checking the Full text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full text from ProQuest.

Checking the Peer reviewed limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in peer reviewed journals. Peer reviewed journals are a subset of scholarly journals and are defined as journals that undergo a review process where other experts (peers) in the field review the work before it is published in the journal. Peer reviewed journals are also commonly known as refereed journals.

Checking the Scholarly journals limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in scholarly journals. Scholarly journals are journals that are intended for an academically oriented audience.

Basic Search

ProQuest interface - Basic Search form

ProQuest Video: Basic Search