Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index: About

A guide to all aspects of PRISMA Database with HAPI Index including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Anthropology
  • Business & economics
  • History
  • Literature
  • Political Science
  • Sociology

Publication Types

  • Conference papers & proceedings
  • Magazines
  • Reports
  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade journals

What is PRISMA Database with HAPI Index?

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index - PRISMA Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content.

Articles in PRISMA examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies—from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators to politics and society to Hispanic theatre. Coverage of subject areas is comprehensive and includes Anthropology, Business & Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology.

Full-text journals in PRISMA include América Latina Hoy, Boletín Americanista, Historia, Journal of Eastern Caribbean Studies, and Revista Hispánica Moderna. Content is updated monthly. PRISMA is continually growing, with new journals being added regularly.

PRISMA is most powerful when paired with the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Subscribers to both PRISMA and HAPI receive the benefit of in-depth indexing that directly complements the full-text content in PRISMA. This indexing is integrated directly into the PRISMA database for HAPI subscribers only.

HAPI covers more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world and provides authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. It contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials.

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is available as a separate subscription through the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles. For more information on HAPI or to request a subscription, please visit http://hapi.ucla.edu.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Selection Policy

With broad coverage of the humanities and social sciences in Latin America, articles are available Spanish, Portuguese and English. Titles come from throughout Latin America, North American and Europe, allowing access to major Latin American studies research journals as well as local, specialist titles.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: