Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of PRISMA Database with HAPI Index including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Thesaurus

The HAPI thesaurus is used to index the PRISMA database subject field.

Please note: only articles cited by HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) include subject indexing. If you use subject terms, the following types of article will be excluded from your search:

  • recent articles in PRISMA which have not yet been indexed by HAPI
  • individual articles which the HAPI indexers have chosen not to cite.
  • articles from journals included in PRISMA which are not indexed by HAPI e.g. Mandorla; Nueva Escritura de las Americas.

Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced and Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The PRISMA database offers four Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, subject (HAPI), country of publication. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to theLook up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Accession Number

AN

AN(1903919176)

A unique number that identifies a specific document.

Anywhere

ALL

ALL(brazilian concrete poetry)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Marques, Leonardo)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Document Title

TI

 

TI(un teatro en el corral)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(article)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, book, essay, and market research.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(1476-3435)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language

LA

LA(Portugese)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus or if you type the mnemonic. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(Revista do Instituto Histórico e Geográfico Brasileiro)

Use to search for a specific publication such as the journal or book title.

Publication Year

PY

PY(2008)

Publisher

 PB

PB(Interciencia)

Use to search for the publisher of the source such as the journal publisher.

Publisher Location

REF

REF(Caracas)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Subject Heading(HAPI)

SU

SU(economic policy)

Controlled vocabulary words, names, or phrases from the Philosopher's Index thesaurus that describes what the document is about.

Update

UD

UD(201207)

When the document was added to the database.