Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest Platform: Product Education


 

ProQuest Platform - Basic Search

Description and Objectives:  This session introduces researchers to the Basic Search on the ProQuest platform, and the options available for building and customizing successful searches.  Objectives of this session:

  • Identify features that help provide effective and rapid searches
  • Discover options for resetting to a collection or subject areas
  • Locate commonly available search fields and operators

Intended Audience: All users and administrators  -  Duration: 5 minutes



 

ProQuest Platform - Advanced Search

Description and Objectives:  This session covers Advanced Search on the ProQuest platform, and looks at provided indexing, searchable fields and available search options, as well as differences in advanced search options that may be encountered when working with a specific collection or groups of collections.  Objectives include the following:

  • Locate and use easy to access searchable fields and indexes
  • Illustrate flexibility of Advanced Search across different collection sets
  • Organize searches of greater complexity and accuracy accessing Command Line and Thesaurus

Intended Audience: All users and administrators - Duration: 5 minutes



 

ProQuest Platform - Search Strategy Tips

Description and Objectives:  This session covers ProQuest Platform search syntax defaults and discusses options for broadening or narrowing search strategies.  Objectives include the following:

  • Incorporate search syntax into queries
  • Employ logical operators and proximity to focus a search query
  • Use truncation to efficiently incorporate word variations in a search

Intended Audience: All users and administrators - Duration: 6.25 minutes


 

ProQuest Platform - Search Results

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews the search results page on the ProQuest platform, discusses narrowing features through facets, identifying and utilizing content through provided research tools and links, and options for reviewing and conducting research within a search result.  Objectives include the following:

  • Revise results to improve content relevancy
  • Examine typical result items and access incorporated research aids
  • Organize and Manage research content

Intended Audience: All users and administrators - Duration: 5.5 minutes


 

ProQuest Platform - Thesaurus

Description and Objectives:  This session covers the Thesaurus option on the ProQuest platform, and focuses on locating and identifying the options available in the thesaurus, as well as deriving and adding terms to a search.  The session additionally introduces an example of the discipline-specific thesauri available in the ProQuest platform for selected collections.  Objectives include the following:

  • Select thesaurus options in order to locate relevant search terms.
  • Derive terms from ProQuest Thesaurus and apply them to a search.
  • Evaluate and use the discipline-specific thesauri available in select ProQuest database collections.

Intended Audience: All users and administrators - Duration: 5.50 minutes


 

ProQuest - Output Options - Materials

30 minutes webinar presentation on saving and delivering the results, saving Searches and creating Alerts


 

ProQuest Platform - Publications

Description and Objectives:   This session covers the Publications tab on the ProQuest platform, and focuses on how to search for specific publications and view their details, as well as narrow publication lists by source type, language, publisher, and database collection.  Objectives include the following:

  • Locate search components in Publications and discover specific publications of interest
  • Assess, track, search, or browse publications for research

Intended Audience: All users and administrators  - Duration: 5.25 minutes


 

For Administrators: How to Embed a Search Link


 

ProQuest Administration Module: Customizing the ProQuest Platform Interface

Description and Objectives:  This session covers using the ProQuest Administrator Module to modify the appearance and behavior of the ProQuest platform and customize ProQuest for your account(s).  The objective is to learn to:

  • Adjust ProQuest platform interface settings using the ProQuest Administrator Module

Intended Audience: Administrators - Duration: 5 minutes


 

ProQuest Administration Module: Branding

Description and Objectives: This session explores applying your institution branding to the ProQuest platform using the ProQuest Administrator Module to personalize ProQuest. Objectives include:

  • Brand the ProQuest interface with logos, text and links
  • Add widgets such as instant messaging or chat
  • Implement branding in prints and downloads

Intended Audience: Administrators - Duration: 3.5 minutes


 

ProQuest Administration Module: Creating a Custom URL

Description and Objectives: This session shows how to create specialized links to one or more databases or subject areas within your institution's subscription and/or modify the interface settings for users of those links.  Objectives include:

  • Create specialized login links to select databases or subjects
  • Define settings for the custom login URLs

Intended Audience: Administrators - Duration: 4 minutes


 

ProQuest Administration Module: Creating a Link to Publications

Description and Objectives: This session covers creating links to publications, with a focus on providing access to a publication or bundle of publications of most interest and benefit to users.  Objectives include:

  • Create custom links to select publications
  • Make publication links accessible to searchers

Intended Audience: Administrators - Duration: 4.5 minutes