Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest Platform: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the subject field of many ProQuest databases. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

 

In addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

 

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

 

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

ProQuest databases offer up to seven Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields(dependent on the selected ProQuest database(s)): author, publication, subject, company/organization, person, location, and NAICS. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link). 

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Common Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

AB(global warming)

Publication abstracts are provided for most articles. Search the abstract field specifically to ensure that you get focused results. Search phrases using truncation to capture alternative endings of words; search multi-word phrases with quotation marks to ensure exact phrases.

Accession Number/ProQuest Document ID

AN

AN(356894)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases, such as PsycINFO).

Anywhere

N/A

(tornadoes OR hurricanes OR “natural disasters”)

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(criminal justice)

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Knowles, Malcolm)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Author Affiliation

AF

AF(MIchigan)

Use to search on additional author information such as institutional affiliation, location of institution, and if provided, the email address of the author can sometimes appear in this field.

Cited Author

CAU

AU(Greenspan)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(Mortgages)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(October 1987)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB(economist)

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Classification Codes

CC

CC(1120)

Use Classification Codes when searching business topics. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type.

Column

COL

COL(Review)

Search for regular features that contain an opinion or point of view

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(Department of the Interior) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. NAICS and SIC codes, when available, are also indexed in this field.

Corporate Author

CA

CA(Blue Cross)

Search for corporate/institutional name, country, city as the author of a document.

Date Line

DLN

DLN(London)

Search an articles datelines that often appear in newspaper articles just after the article title and provide the date and place of the original article.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Chart)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, and photographs.

Document Text

FT

FT(Freedom of expression)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(Boston marathon)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(Market Research)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, business case, company profile, and market research.

Image caption

CAP

CAP(Obama)

Search the brief description usually accompanying an illustration or photograph.

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9780549687191)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(00014788)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(8368)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.

Journal Subject

JSU

JSU("Children and Youth-About")

JSU(Psychology)

Locate records using the journal's assigned subject coverage. Also see the Publications page and use the Subject narrowing facet to refine the list of publications by journal subject.

Language

LA

LA(French)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Location

LOC

LOC("Pacific Northwest")

LOC("Detroit Michigan")

LOC(Sweden)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus or if you type the mnemonic. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

MeSH

MeSH

MESH(intervention studies)

MeSH stands for Medical Subject Heading and is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. Any record with MeSH subjects means that the record is indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.  When a record has MeSH subjects assigned to it, you will often see ProQuest Subjects assigned to it as well. The ProQuest subjects appear in the Subject Heading (All) field.

NAICS

NAICS

NAICS(336411)

The NAICS code defines the economic activity of a business as defined by the US Census Bureau.

Page

PG

PG(221-230)

PG (A1)

Search for specific page numbers or page ranges.

Person

PER

PER(Melinda Gates)

Use to find articles about a person.

Place of Publication

CP

CP(New York)

Use to locate articles published in a specific place. This will search for the city and county of publication.

Product

NP

NP(iPod)

Use to find articles about a specific product.

Publication Date

PD

PD(19871020)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

 (YYYYMMDD) = (19871020)

 (YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (1987 and Oct)

 (YYYY) = 1987

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(Nature)

Use to search for a specific publication such as the journal or book title.

Publisher

PB

PB(BioMed Central Ltd.)

Use to search for the publisher of the source such as the journal publisher.

References

REF

REF(occupational accidents)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Section

SEC

SEC(travel)

Search for documents in a specific section of a publication.

Source Type

SType

STYPE(newspapers)

Use to find a specific source type such as books, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(Yoga)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “yoga”, will find articles with the subjects-- yoga, ashtanga yoga, yoga practice, etc. To run an exact subject search where only “yoga” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(Yoga)

Tags

TAG

TAG(diversity management)

Use to search for Tags assigned to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.

Ticker Symbol

TKS

TKS(MOT)

Use to search for documents about a company with the company’s ticker symbol. Ticker symbols, when available, are displayed in the Company/Organization area of the indexing (details).

Volume

VO

VO(100)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.