Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Psychology Database: Searchable Fields

Psychology Journals combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice.

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the Psychology Database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the Psychology Database, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject fields, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line searches. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line searches, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups

Psychology Database offers a subject Look up, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Subject Look up link in the advanced search page.  The Subject Look up is also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

Author, Publications, Subject headings, Company/Organization, Location and Person Look ups are available when selecting a field from the drop down.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(bipolar)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Abstracts are available from 1987.

Accession Number/ProQuest Document ID

AN

AN(3049079440

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases, such as PsycINFO).

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(gender ideals)

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Buck, Benjamin)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Or use the Look up feature for this field.  

Cited Author

CAU

AU(Maslow)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(holocaust and identity)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(October 1987)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB(american psychiatry)

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(Microsoft) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Chart)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, and photographs.

Document Text

FT

FT(aging myth)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(art and early childhood)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Image Caption

CAP

CAP(Freud)

Search the brief description usually accompanying an illustration or photograph.

International Standard Serials Number

ISSN

 

ISSN(00014788)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard      Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Location

LOC

LOC(Austin)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Person

PER

PER(A Alzheimer)

Use to find articles about a person.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(Lancet Neurology)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

References

REF

REF(performance enhancement)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Section

SEC

SEC(editorial)

Search for documents in a specific section of a publication.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(head injury)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading head injury will find articles with the subject head injury, assessing head injury, etc. To run an exact subject search where only assessing head injury is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(assessing head injury)