Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Public Health Database: Sample Searches

Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals, delivering core public health literature with centralized access to high quality full-text publications, including ext

Search Public Health Database

Links to Public Health Database

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to Public Health Database. If you are unable to access your account, please contact your local librarian.

Sample Searches

Basic Search

You are looking for recent information on health risks of late pregnancy.

  • Type "health risk$1" and "late pregnancy" into the Basic Search box or use widget on the left.  
    • The $n (*) is a truncation character ​used to denote up to how many characters you want to truncate retrieves variations of the search term. In this case will retrieve risk and risks. 
    • Put quotation marks around phrases like “late pregnancy" in order to search for these words as exact phrases.
  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature.
  • From the Narrow results by, go to the Subject limit and select the box to include the health risk assessment subject. 
  • Still  in the Narrow results, go to the Publication Date limit and select the last bar in the chart to choose documents published since 2010.
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.

Advanced Search

 You are looking for recent full-text articles on behavior of children with attention deficit disorder (ADHD). 

  • From the Advanced Search page and the first row, type "attention deficit disorder" OR ADHD and then select Document title from the first pull-down menu
  • In the second row, type behav* and then select Subject from the pull-down menu
  • In the third row, type child* and then select Abstract from the pull-down menu  
  • Select the Peer reviewed box
  • Click Search.
  • At the Results page go to Narrow results and then to Publication Date limit. Select the last bar in the chart to choose items published the last five years
  • At the Narrow results go to Subject Limit. Select the box to exclude the subject attention deficit disorder with hyperactivity.
  • To begin reviewing your results, click on the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Save search/alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into Public Health Database that meet your search criteria.

Publications

Use this page to locate publications covered in Public Health Database, to search within those publications and browse the available issues.

You want to browse publications about Gerontology.  

  • Type Gerontology in the Search box and select to search In subject from the pull-down menu.
  • Click on Journal of Gerontological Nursing publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • Use the Search within this publication search box to search for articles in the journal or the Browse specific issues feature to look through the contents of any issue in the list.
  • To browse the latest issue, select 2016 to see the published issues and then choose the most recent issue.
  •  Click on the preview for additional record details or select the Details or Title link or Full Text to begin reviewing the article.