Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Congressional Basic: What is searched from the Basic Search form?

For users of the Congressional Basic subscription service.

What is Being Searched?

The current ProQuest Congressional (introduced 9/2012) interface works somewhat differently than the previous version.  This table shows you what is being searched from the Basic Search, from the Advanced Search (using All Fields Including Full Text -- note --  the default setting on the Advanced Search is All fields except full-text, which we also call "the metadata" below), and whether this is different than the old version.

Note:  what is available in your search results depends on your institutional subscriptions.  See box (bottom of page) for assistance in looking up institutional subscriptions and purchases.

Document Type (1970-present)** Is it searched using the Basic Search? Is it searched in an Advanced Search using All Fields Including Full Text
     
Hearings transcripts (full-text html, selected, from 1988-present) NO yes
Hearings metadata  yes yes
     
Bill Text yes yes
Bill Tracking yes yes
Statutes at Large* yes yes
Public Laws yes yes
US Code yes yes
     
Daily Congressional Record  yes yes
     
Committee Prints & Misc Pubs metadata yes yes
     
Reports and Documents transcripts (full-text html, 1990-present) NO yes
Serial Set (incl. House and Senate Reports and Documents) metadata yes yes
     
Legislative History metadata yes yes

* Optional add-on module for Congressional Basic customers

The best strategy to find full-text documents such as committee hearings and reports that mention key words or phrases is to perform an ADVANCED SEARCH using the field ALL FIELDS INCLUDING FULL-TEXT.

Your Institution's holdings

To see your institutions holdings, click on the link for the Content Coverage Chart on the bottom of each page, in the center under "About This Database". 

This chart reflects what your institution has subscribed to or purchased. 

 

To see a complete chart (not customized) look in the Help content (link in the upper right corner (not shown here) for a list of all content possible.