This is the "About the Congressional Record" page of the "Quick Start: Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ProQuest Home ProQuest LibGuides Home About the ProQuest LibGuides Creators Our Webinars Using our LibGuides ProQuest YouTube Channel ProQuest Trainers on Facebook ProQuest Twitter Image Map

Quick Start: Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection   Tags: congressional, congressional record, quick start guides  

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2012 URL: http://proquest.libguides.com/quick_start_congrec Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

About the Congressional Record Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is the Congressional Record?

There are two versions of the Congressional Record in ProQuest Congressional

The first version, available with the Congressional Basic subscription, is the Congressional Record Daily Edition.  This version is available from 1985-present, and is available through the Daily Congressional Record and Rules tab on the left menu.

The second version, the Permanent Digital Collection, contains both the bound Congressional Record (beginning in 1873 and currently available through the late 1990s) and the predecessor titles including the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Annals of Congress (1789-1824).   

This second version, the Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, is what we are highlighting in this guide.  

 

For More Information on the Congressional Record...

For more information on the Congressional Record, see

 

 

And for information on searching in Congressional, see the ProQuest Congressional Training Videos, in the box to the right.

 

About the Congressional Record in ProQuest Congressional

Congressional Record menuYou can easily see if your library has the Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection by looking at the left menu for the menu titled Congressional Record Only (shown right) or by checking if you have the 4th tab on the Congressional Publications menu.

Please note, users will also see results for the Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection when seeing results from the Basic and Advanced Search tabs.  The results will show up on the second results tab (see the Searching the Congressional Record page in this guide for an example). 

The Congressional Record Only tab shows all of the options for searching with the Congressional Record

 

 

Congressional Record Only Tab

Select the time period of interest either by selecting the title in the Search within portion of the page, or by search a date range or congress in the Restrict by section. 

Three of the options from the pulldown shown here will result in another pulldown being offered.  The Content Type pull down has an additional 28 options including letters, remarks by, tributes, conference reports, and more.  The other two options that results in the additional pulldown are Full text by section, and View of GPO Index volumes Only.

 

 

 

 

ProQuest Congressional Training Videos

Using our LibGuides | Suggest a Guide | Webinars | Discover More Corps | ProQuest

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip