Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Regulatory Insight

Regulatory Histories created by ProQuest for enacted Public Laws

September 2017 Release

New September 2017 - BROWSE Federal Register

the Browse option allows users to choose to browse either the Federal Register or the Code of Federal Regulations.

Using the top menu bar, click on Browse and select the Federal Register.

select the date using the pulldown calendar

 

Once you have selected the required date, note that under the title and date, you have an option to view the entire issue on the results page, or to view the PDF of the issue.

Underneath that you can select the documents products by each agency for that day. 

select the agency to see the announements on that day

If you use the documents by agency option, select the agency and items published on that day from the agency will display.   

New September 2017 - BROWSE Code of Federal Regulations

the Browse option allows users to choose to browse either the Federal Register or the Code of Federal Regulations.

Using the top menu bar, click on Browse and select the Code of Federal Regulations. 

first, select the year required

Next, select the required year and click Go.

Finally, drill down to the required section by selecting the required title, section, and part.   Note - if you use the View Parts option, the results will open on a results page.  select the section and part and finally click for the text

 

New September 2017 - Comments in Regulatory Insight

As part of the regulatory process, comments can be submitted for proposed rules.   Within the Federal Register announcement of the Proposed Rule, there is text stating that "Comments must be received on or before" a certain date.   This is known as the Notice and Comment Period.  

The comments included in Regulatory Insight are the comments that have been submitted as a part of this process and are posted on Regulations.gov.   The comments are searchable individually or can be reviewed by Docket or RIN series. 

Regulatory Insight includes:

  • comments posted from January 1, 2017 onward pertaining to Federal Register articles (e.g. notices, proposed rules and rules)
  • retrospective comments relating to Dockets which were open for comment in 2016 and appear in our Regulatory Histories

New September 2017 - Finding Comments

Comments Serch pageThere are 3 ways to access the Comments submitted for proposed rules in Regulatory Insight. 

1) You can access comments through the Comments search form where you can search by All Fields, Agency, Country, Organization, and Submitter.  Note that full text is not an option.

In addition, you can search for comments filed by Docket Number, RIN number, or Comment ID number. 

 

Search results using All Fields, Agency, Country, Organization, Submitter or Comment ID Number will bring up individual comments. 

Using the Document Number or RIN research returns results for all individual comments as well as the Comments Archive (an archive of all comments for that RIN or docket number). 

 

link to comments archive from regulatory history2) Another way to access the comments is from within a regulatory history.  If a RIN series or has any associated comments, you will see a link to the Comments Archive.

 

Federal Register article showing link to Comments Archive3) The final way to access comments is from the Federal Register article.  Both Proposed Rules and Final Rules with comments will have links to the Comment Archive. 

 

(Remember the caveat:  Regulatory Insight includes:  comments posted from January 1, 2017 onward pertaining to Federal Register articles (e.g. notices, proposed rules and rules);retrospective comments relating to Dockets which were open for comment in 2016 and appear in our Regulatory Histories.)

New September 2017 - Comments Archive

Comments archive showing filterThe top of the Comments Archive shows the filter where you can search the metadata (note the comments are not searchable), filter by date or whether or not there are attachments. 

 

The Summary section of the page gives you the RIN and Dockets, the title of the Proposed Rule, a link back to the Regulatory History and the public law text, and the URL for the Comments Archive you are viewing.

Comments Archive shoing list of comments

The first item listed in the Comments section is the Proposed Rule so you can easily download it to consult when reading comments. 

You can sort the comments by ID number or by date (oldest/newest first). 

After the Federal Register Proposed Rule the comments will appear.   Note that the information provided here is based on what was filed when the comment was submitted. 

Click the Publication Details or other materials as appropriate to view the comment.