Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Sanborn Maps Geo Edition: About

ProQuest Sanborn Maps Geo Edition (1867-1970) provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of American towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates.

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

About

ProQuest Sanborn® Maps Geo Edition (1867-1970) provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of American towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates.

The original Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps collection on microfilm has long been one of the few comprehensive sets for the entire U.S., with some 660,000 maps.

Sanborn Maps Geo Edition uses a selection of these enhanced images from Digital Sanborn Maps. Collections currently available to libraries:

  • State collections feature individual state collections for District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina,New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.
  • City collection features a collection of those state’s major cities, including Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Detroit, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Newark, Philadelphia, Richmond, and Seattle.

In searchable, digital form, Sanborn Maps Geo Edition allows for unparalleled uses of historical urban map data. Maps contain GIS information that enables users to locate data by address or geographic coordinates. It also allows users to layer maps from different years on top of each other and over modern street, satellite, and hybrid layers using an integrated map API or by importing into GIS tools.

About Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Sanborn® fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years.

By applying the latest in geo-referencing technology to the collections, Sanborn Maps Geo Edition allows for increased discovery and greater ease of use that can unlock the histories of urban America.

Historians, urban planners, architects, environmentalists, geographers, genealogists, and others will find the maps a valuable tool for exploring the grid of everyday life in more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities across a century of change.

Maps contain detailed data such as building outlines, size, use, construction details, and function of structures. They also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, house and block numbers, and other features like pipelines, railroads, and wells, and dumps.