Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

SciTech Premium Collection: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

Thesauri from various databases within the SciTech Premium Collection are used to index the subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the SciTech Premium Collection there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, location, person and product name. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Thesaurus List

The following thesauri are available for the database collection of the SciTech Premium Collection. Note that many thesauri are database-specific, and may limit your search results to documents from those databases.

  • ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering Thesaurus
  • Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Thesaurus
  • Copper Thesaurus
  • EIS Controlled terms
  • Engineered Materials Thesaurus
  • Life Sciences Thesaurus
  • MeSH 2016 Thesaurus
  • Metallurgical Thesaurus
  • Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Terms
  • NASA Thesaurus
  • Pollution Thesaurus
  • ProQuest Thesaurus
  • RAPRA Thesaurus
  • Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary)
  • Technology Terms
  • Water Resources Abstracts Thesaurus

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The SciTech Premium Collection offers five Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, subject heading, company/organization, and classification codes. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to theLook up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

 Field Name

Label

 Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

AB((single command uplink cycle) and (microscopic imaging))

AB(habitat destruction)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number / ProQuest Document ID

AN

AN(1785240726)

AN(PQ0002672211)

Searches both the unique ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID or accession number.

All Fields

ALL

ALL(tett, gillian)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Abagyan, Ruben)

AU.EXACT("Abagyan, Ruben")

 

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name). Or select authors from the look up list in the Advanced Search.

Author Affiliation

 AF

AF(Michigan)

Use to search on additional author information such as institutional affiliation, location of institution, and if provided, the email address of the author can sometimes appear in this field.

Cited Author

CAU

CAU(Greenspan)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(Mortgages)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(October 1987)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB(economist)

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Classification Codes

CC

CC(1120)

CC(C: CA19.5.6 TELEPHONE SYSTEMS)

Use Classification Codes when searching specific topics. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type.

Coden

Coden

CODEN(LANCAO)

Unique six-character alphanumeric code permanently identifying a serial publication, such as a journal or magazine, or a non-serial publication, such as a dissertation or thesis. Examples are JECLB3 as the Coden for the 'Journal Of Economic Literature,' LANCAO for the journal 'Lancet'

Conference

CF

CF(Long Beach)

CF(2016 IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference)

This field provides the name of the conference and where and when it occurred. All these words are searchable, but for faster retrieval, ignore the common words such as "annual or "annu" or "meeting" and search for the distinctive elements only.

Corporate Author

CA

CA(Smithsonian Institution)

Search for corporate/institutional name, country, city.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(Ford) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search. It is a unique identifier assigned to a document that is registered through the International DOI Foundation.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Chart)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, and photographs.

Document Text

FT

FT(Mortgage backed securities)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(chlorella vulgaris production enhancement)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(book)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, book, essay, and market research.

Editor

ED

ED(Brian, J)

Used to search Scientific coordinator.

Taxonomic Term

OTX

OTX(Megabalanus volcano)

Search for a field of science that encompasses description, identification, nomenclature, and classification.

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9608792614)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(00036846)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(11)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.

Identifier (Keyword)

IF

IF(sedimentology)

To search the researchers’ keywords, or identifiers, or vernacular terms of species.

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Location

LOC

LOC(Austin)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

MeSH Subjects

 MESH

MESH(intervention studies)

MeSH stands for Medical Subject Heading and is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. Any record with MeSH subjects means that the record is indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.  When a record has MeSH subjects assigned to it, you will often see ProQuest Subjects assigned to it as well. The ProQuest subjects appear in the Subject Heading (All) field.

Monograph Title

MT

MT(Farming with grass)

Use to search for monographic titles.

NAICS

NAICS

NAICS(334111)

The NAICS code defines the economic activity of a business as defined by the US Census Bureau. This information often appears within the Company/Organization section of the record.

Notes

NT

NT(erratum)

Use to search the Supplemental data field, for example an erratum or special issue.

Original Title

OTI

OTI(Charakterisierung thermisch behandelter Milchproteine)

This is where a foreign-language title might be displayed, if the article included both an English and a foreign-language title.

Other Numbers

NU

NU(52)

This is a field used to indicate numbers such as a catalog number of a monograph.

Patent - Assignee

AP

ap(altana)

Patent - Publication Data

PUD

PUD(20141014)

PUD(201410)

PUD(2014)

Basic, equivalent and related publication dates. May find additional results not available in the search for PDA only.

Includes a search in all subfields Patent Country (PBC), Patent Number (PN) and Publication Date (PDA).

Patent Publication Country

PBC

PBC(US)

Searches the 2-letter ISO standard country code for the basic, equivalent and related publication country.

Patent Publication Number

PN

PN(US 6984428)

Searches basic and equivalent publication numbers.

Patent Publication Date

PDA

PDA(20141014)

PDA(201410)

PDA(2014)

Basic, equivalent and related publication dates.

Person

PER

PER(Steve Jobs)

 

Use to find articles about a person.

Place of Publication

CP 

CP(New York)

Use to locate articles published in a specific place. This will search for the city and county of publication.

Product Name

NP

NP(Kindle)

Use to find articles about a specific product.

Publication date

PD

PD(19871020)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

 (YYYYMMDD) = (19871020)

 (YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (1987 and Oct)

 (YYYY) = 1987

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(ecological modelling)

Use to search for a specific publication such as the journal or book title.

Publisher

 PB

PB(“BioMed Central Ltd”)

Use to search for the publisher of the source such as the journal publisher.

References

REF

REF(Greenspan)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Report Number

RP

RP(aiaa paper 2005-6919)

RP(2005-6919)

Source type

SType

STYPE(newspapers)

Use to find a specific source type such as books, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

Standard Number

SN

SN(DIN 168*)

SN(SAE)

Searching industrial standard abbreviations or numbers like DIN  "German institute for standardisation", SAE "Society of Automotive Engineers " or other available industrial standards.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(Habitat)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. It will retrieve anything to do with the subject keyword being searched. For example, doing a search for the subject heading of “habitat”, it would find articles if the subject was habitat, habitat selection, habitat factors or habitat improvement.

To run an exact subject search where only “habitat” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT, like SU.EXACT(habitat).

Searching the SU field will also include a search in the single fields Keyword/identifier (IF) and Taxonomic term (OTX or TXTERM).

Summary Language

SL

SL(French)

Used to search the summary language in a specific language.

Volume

VO

VO(100)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.