Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Screen Studies Collection: About

Comprehensive survey of film scholarship publications and detailed and expansive filmographies

Content

The products and collections listed below make up the Screen Studies Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.

Subject coverage

  • Film history
  • Film theory
  • Film criticism

What is the Screen Studies Collection?

The Screen Studies Collection offers a comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies, from ProQuest.  

This collection includes the specialist FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute: AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

About the International Index to Film Periodicals (FIAF)

The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database by ProQuest is brought together by institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents.

Founded in Paris in 1938, FIAF (The International Federation of Film Archives) is a collaborative association of the world's leading film archives whose purpose has always been to ensure the proper preservation and showing of motion pictures. Today, more than 120 archives in over 65 countries collect, restore, and exhibit films and cinema documentation spanning the entire history of film.

About the American Film Institute Catalog (AFI)

The American Film Institute Catalog by ProQuest is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloguing currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards. Drawing on the expertise of specialist staff at the AFI, it is a key resource for any educational institution, library, or film organization that is involved with the research, study, and teaching of film.

About Film Index International (FII)

Film Index International by ProQuest is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (BFI) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the BFI over the past 70 years. Film Index International includes records on films from over 170 countries and has extensive coverage of international film awards and prizes.

Content Updates in Support Center

Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:

ProQuest Literature and Arts Databases Content Updates

once in the article, click on   to be emailed every time the article is updated.

Gallery