Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Social Science Database: Searchable Fields

Social Science Database offers key full-text social science journals

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the Social Science Database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the Social Science Database, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced or Command Line. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line search page, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. Run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Social Science Database offers six Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, subject, company/organization, person, and location. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (i.e., "Look up Authors").

Click the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the "Add to search" button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection. Note that you may select multiple terms and join them with a Boolean operator AND or OR before clicking the "Add to Search" button.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

AB(taliban)   

This will search in the abstract to quickly provide results directly connected with your topic.                

Anywhere  

taliban

This will search anywhere in the abstract, indexing and full-text.  Casting a very wide net using this type of search.

Anywhere except full text NOFT

NOFT(taliban)

Anywhere except full text will search just abstracting and indexing metadata.  Typically, much less than Anywhere search but greater than Abstract search.

All subjects & indexing SU

SU(taliban)

This search looks at all the fields that are indexed and can include classification, identifier, etc.  To look for exact subject, use MAINSUBJECT (Subject heading, below)

This search is often best left as sorted by relevance. 

Author

AU

AU(rashid, ahmed)

Author names will generally be indexed as shown in the original article. The standard format is Last Name, First Name. We do recommend that you use the Author Name Lookup for searches to ensure a comprehensive result set.

Caption CAP

CAP(bazaar)

When images are indexed, caption will show words associated with the caption of that image.

Cited Author CAU

CAU(rashid, ahmed)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.  A good combination with an Author search.

Cited Document Title CTI

CTI(organ bazaar)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.  Great way to trace a resource to its connections.

Cited Publication Date CYR

CYR(2016)

Publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Company/Organization ORG

ORG(world trade organization)

This is used when an organization is indexed as a subject. 

While you can put the name of any possible organization in this search, it is highly recommended you use the Company/organization Name Lookup.  For example, looking for ORG(UNESCO) will reveal no results.  But using the Lookup for United Nations (begins with) and finding the United Nations Educational, Scientific, & Cultural Organization will reveal a multitude of possibilities

Document Text FT

FT(taliban)

This is another wide net search often revealing less than an Anywhere search but still including much more than an Abstract or Subject or other targeted search.

Document Title

TI

TI(Adapting to Europe: is it harder for Britain)

The English title of a document. This is the original title for English language records, or a translation for non-English records. For book reviews the title shown here is the title of the book which has been reviewed.

ISSN  ISSN

ISSN(19464444)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Location LOC

LOC(pakistan)

This field is when a location operates as a subject as well. A Lookup is available for accuracy in searching. 

Person PER

PER(hosseini)

This field is used when a person is indexed as a subject.  

The standard format is Last Name, First Name. We do recommend that you use the Person Name Lookup for searches to ensure a comprehensive result set.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(ethics and behavior)                                            

This field contains the publication name of a periodical, it displays as part of the source information. This field is word indexed allowing for easy retrieval. You may wish to consult the Look up Publications for a comprehensive list of journal names.

References REF

REF(organ bazaar)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Subject Heading MAINSUBJECT

SU(taliban)

This search (in comparison to the All subjects & headings search above) will search only the subject heading and classification code fields.