Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Sociology Collection: About

Content

The products and collections listed below make up the Sociology Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.

Subjects

  • Addiction
  • Community and mental health services
  • Family and marriage
  • Gerontology
  • Race and ethnicity
  • Social care
  • Social policy
  • Social services
  • Social structure
  • Social welfare
  • Social work
  • Sociology

What is the Sociology Collection?

The Sociology Collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.

 

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is the Sociology Database?

Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

What is the Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) ?

The Applied Social Sciences Index Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals.

What is Sociological Abstracts?

Sociological Abstracts its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage 1952- current.

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.